Futbol


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
March 8th 2012
Published: March 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Two of the boys in our program, Will and Lupe, came to Seville partly for the opportunity to play soccer (or as Spaniards call it, the real football) in Spain. They practice with a Spanish team 3 nights a week after school. They aren't allowed to play in real games here as it interfere with rules about playing with their colleges at home, but they are allowed to play in what they call "friendly" games, which I guess is sort of like a scrimmage. They had one of these friendly games last night, so my roommates (Kia and Samm) decided to go. Kia and Will are dating, and he actually lives two floors down with us with Lupe and our other two friends, Josh and Mike. Kia and Samm are also in the soccer program here, so they do the same thing the boys do but with a girls team (obviously). Futbol (soccer) is HUGE here, bigger than American football is in the U.S. So if you're a soccer fan, which my roommates are, than coming to Spain is like going to heaven. I haven't been to a "real" soccer game yet, but I am going to one with my mom and brother when they come. Anyway, last night was fun, I had forgotten how fun sports game are to watch live, the last live sports game I watched was probably a badger basketball game with my brother a few weeks before we left.

I've been running here a couple times a week for the last few weeks. Sometimes I go by myself, but lately I've been running with other people. My roommate Samm is pretty in shape because of soccer, so I like to go with her. Sometimes I run with Josh, one of the guys who lives downstairs. I like running with other people because it makes the run more fun, and it pushes me to go faster and further. I also love running in Seville because it's the perfect temperature to run outside right now. However, it seems to get a little warmer everyday, so I'm not sure how much longer this pleasant running weather will last. Right now the highs are in the lower 70's. Which I love. I'm not complaining in the least.

For those of you who are dying to know, I did not end up going on a date with Tocare. I had a lot of surprise homework that night and chickened out. I was also nervous about going to a guy's house whom I didn't know very well. He didn't seem like the kind of guy that I would ever need to worry about, but you can never know for sure. I haven't put minutes on my phone in a while, so I haven't really been talking to him lately. I've actually been hanging out with Josh a lot lately, the guy who lives downstairs from me. My mom and aunt thought that was funny when I told them because I've dated two guys named Josh in the past.

My friends and I are starting to plan out our travles for after the program. We're thinking about getting a 5 country EuroRail pass and going from Spain to France, Switzerland, Germany, the Netherlands, and then taking a plane to London. From there I would like to go to Sweden and then fly out of Finland to go back home. But these are just tentative plans, we'll see what actually happens.

I don't think anyone is really going anywhere this weekend since we have Friday classes this week which takes a day off of our weekend. I think I'll still go out for a bit tonight.

Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb