Malage to Cordoba (oops)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
April 12th 2010
Published: April 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Priego de CordobaPriego de CordobaPriego de Cordoba

Fountain in Priego, spring water from mountains dam cold
Hi Folks again, I have had to eat a large helping of humble pie since last entry. I will now explain why. I was left to arrange the hotel in Cordoba by the better half, went onto web and booked hotel via Alpha rooms for Cordoba as I thought and site had indicated. Noted the hotels address down as being in Granada, drove 200kms to Cordoba and tried to find hotel only to find someone had moved the hotel to Priego de cordoba which is no where near Cordoba. (90kms away) Not a big problem as I now knew the road as I just driven it, headed back to-wards Malaga. The car was very quiet and not much being said by Eunice, I was a worried man at this point not knowing what I had booked, loaded sat nav with post code, which has being playing up a lot in Spain due to lots of new roads being built. What have I booked and where is it? . Monumental f..k up.
I had in fact booked hotel rural huerta de las palomas, in Priego de Cordoba (or that is the nearest town to the hotel, the clues in rural)
Had a
What might have beenWhat might have beenWhat might have been

This is better than Cordoba, but wont let him know just yet.
nice drive and retraced my steps back down a very new motorway 190kms round trip smashing.
Arrived at our Hotel after following sat nav directions via a Spanish national park which worried me a lot as car could not get up some hills and took two attempts. Well were we pleased see the hotel, please see the photos 4* plus, Priego is slap bang in the middle of Cordoba and Granada and is great. So good stopped eating pie and booked an extra night. When checking in tried my best Spanish, wasted effort the lady was from Airdrie and responded "I ok youve got a booking, youll be Mackintosh's then!!"
Priegro De Cordoba, should be on all travellers list what a great little town again lots of photo's
For those into cycling check out the Via Verde cycle route, it follows the old olive oil train route which has been turned into cycle route, spent a great day on the bikes, small hilltop towns Arabic castles, never heard of it before but so glad I messed up and turned up this Gem.
One of the places that really stuck out was Zuheros (I think thats how you spell it)
Stopped
Old Jewish quarter PriegoOld Jewish quarter PriegoOld Jewish quarter Priego

whitewash salesman dream
for lunch here at a small hotel, whow was this place special. The owner is got phots of all the good a great in spanish football over the years, He asked me for a photo, do I look famous??
The three days spent in this area were super and would recomend to anyone.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Out on the townOut on the town
Out on the town

Eunice in stairway of hotel as we are going out for evening meal
Via VerdiVia Verdi
Via Verdi

Old olive oil train line turned into walking and cycling track
Felt like top of the worldFelt like top of the world
Felt like top of the world

Eunice scared at being so high up.


25th April 2010

Sounds like you are having a ball. Have been to Cordoba, great place, did you go to the Mezitta (mekita, spelt how it sounds!!). It is an amazing place. First time, and last probably, that a place of worship bought tears to my eyes. Keep enjoying, Ruth x
9th May 2010

Hi Ruth Never made it to Cordoba in the end. Ronnie's mistake in booking Priego di Cordoba turned out to be great but don't tell him. I'll have to put Cordoba back on the list
12th May 2010

Braw
Quality life style , enjoy .

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb