Cruela Seville


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
January 15th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Let me begin by noting the title of this entry is a result of an unofficial “Wittiest Pun with Sevilla” contest I held yesterday, won by none other than a fellow member of the infamous Bravo bloodline - congratulations Mig. Close runner-up was “Sevilla Make Ya Andalusia Mind”. Also, for educational purposes, I will end each paragraph with a bit of Spanish; those who have visited Spain will understand better. Vale. On a much more distressing note, Bombo the Brave has passed away at 21 years of age (dog years) - perhaps that makes the title a bit more appropriate. A slideshow accompanied by Green Day’s “Time of Your Life” is in the works; I’ll send out the link when I’m finished. Moment of silence for the most disproportional, vile, albeit charming creature, I’ve ever met. Vale.

Moving on, I am beginning to fall in love with Sevilla. For me it’s like going over a rich friend’s house for the first time and checking out all the cool things they have (object-shaped pools, elaborate theater/game/music rooms, elevators to secret places, magical wardrobes, etc.) in amazement. It’s a lot like that. Also, in both places there are workers who speak Spanish, except in Sevilla they are much better looking (excessively so actually, I feel like Sling Blade when I walk around). Classes have also begun and the structure of my time here is beginning to manifest itself more clearly. I’ve concluded that Spaniards only really go out on the weekends; therefore each night during the week one main bar or discoteca in Sevilla holds a monopoly on the American / International crowd and I’m sensing already how this might get tiresome very quickly. So far though the classes aren’t so demanding as to hold anyone back from going out most nights, but they are fairly interesting and the language barrier is only most present while writing. Vale.

I also learn a lot from watching TV. I’ve already got a couple favorite shows: Cifras y Letras and Cobra 11. Cifras y Letras is a Spanish game show that’s a lot like Text Twist with a mathematics component between two competitors. They present random numbers and a solution and you have to reach the solution with the numbers given. Example Question: (2, 4, 3, 9, 8, 5) = 319. The solution will be at the bottom of the page. Cobra 11 though kicks some serious ass. It’s far and away my favorite show and judging by the Kid Rock prominent score, I approximate it was made circa 1997. It’s a German show about 2 detectives (unrealistically young hotshot and slightly older wily veteran) dubbed in Spanish. I love it because every episode, regardless of the crime (kidnap, murder, etc.), there is always a car chase followed by an absurdly spectacular car crash. I’m talking like 20+ car pile-up with a minimum of 3 flips per car. And you know it’s good because they use real cars so the budget must have been insane. It also explains why I’m watching episodes from 1997. There’s almost always a sexual component too (they show a lot more on cable channels here, like nipples - ew!) as well as some light humor. I’m beginning to learn which shows/movies translate well and which ones do not. Here are some shows that do not: NCIS Miami, NCIS New York, NCIS Chicago, Family Guy (especially this one, perhaps it’s the obscure American references or extremely offensive nature of the program…?), The Simpsons. Here are some that translate well: The Holiday. That’s it so far. It also saddens me to say that last night I had the misfortune of stumbling upon Humano Trafico (Human Trafficking) again (reference to Peru), and I think it was more traumatic the second time around. I spent the night pensive and disturbed. I finally cried myself to sleep only after doing a set of Kiegel exercises. Vale.

I’m going to start a little sub-blog within my blog. It will be entitled “Aventuras con Marisol”, vale.

Aventuras con Marisol



“Dear Kitty,
The relationship between Marisol and I is beginning to evolve. However the evolution I refer to is in the more negative sense, like the evolution of the robots in I Robot for example. I’m starting to learn that Marisol is very territorial, strict, and set in her ways. We get mini-lectures if we leave a light on for a second too long or don’t close a door (one that was previously opened before we walked through…) or wander the apartment (which only consists of 4 areas really). To use the internet I have to go into her “computer room” because it’s the only place I can connect. I sit in terror, praying she’s not stalking in the shadows, waiting to reprimand me. I’m beginning to feel a lot like Anne Frank, sneaking around at night. I think her and I have a lot in common (Anne Frank that is). And Marisol’s meals are starting to dwindle in quality and quantity both. Come 2:30 or 9, David and I sit attentively like starved dogs. Marisol is our Michael Vick. It is a personal struggle I must overcome; Mein Kampf if you will. It helps to write; when I write, I can shake off all my cares. And I must say I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are truly good at heart. I actually think I borrowed those last few parts from somewhere...can't remember where from. Vale.”

In reality everything is amazing though (Marisol is not so bad). I’m learning a lot of Spanish, meeting tons of people, and generally having an amazing time. I can already see how one semester might not be long enough so I will do all I can to live it up while I’m here. The program/Spain/Sevilla/Sevillanas has far exceeded my expectations and continues to do so. Viva Ethpana! Vale.


Solution: 2 * 8 = 16, 16 - 4 = 12, 12 * 9 = 108, 108 * 3 = 324, 324 - 5 = 319. Vale.

-BRAVO OUT-


Advertisement



16th January 2009

Ethpana
I'm impressed on your phonetic spelling of the Spanish way of pronouncing Ethpana!
19th February 2009

Kiegel exercises...really Andy?

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb