its thursday again


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
October 9th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Its Thursday again.
So last night after siesta I went with Rachel to the birthday party for one of our teachers, Ana, who turned 24. Of course we were the first people there (being americans we were 5 minutes early) and she has a very beautiful apartment with a lot of windows and a gorgeous view. She showed us her place and then we got some juice and waited for others to arrive. Once the rest of the guest has arrived, there were 14 in total including the principal, vice principal (who are married!) and the secretary… we had some snacks and played a silly game. We passed 2 things around the circle and had to ask each other questions it was a race. Its hard to explain but it got us all laughing. And then they wanted to sing karaoke with the play station 2. It was humorous. After some singing and such I left to meet Ceci at the library to get some stuff for school. We got some good activities for the students. I had to get stuff about nutrition and the senses. After that we went back to our apartment to make dinner. We cooked chicken and vegetables and watched tv. After that we just talked and went to bed around midnight.

Today Rachel and I got up and headed into town to get our passport pictures taken in order to get our residence cards to live here in Spain. We were informed that we have to go to Cordoba tomorrow to turn in all of our paper work. We will have to go back to Cordoba one more time once they have processed all of our stuff. it’s a stupid and tedious process… but necessary I guess. After that we headed to school and met with the bilingual coordinator, David, to talk about all the paperwork we need to have filled out for our residence cards. I’m worried that I don’t have everything, but hopefully I do! I had 6th grade English class today and to start the class I worked one-on-one with a special needs girl, who doesn’t know much English. She surprised me and actually did very well with the homework we did. After that I walked around and practiced asking questions with the students. Then I read some things aloud and the each student took a turn repeating me. At the end of class they wanted me to read a paragraph as fast as I could and they were so impressed haha. It was a good class. The students were very quiet and paid attention while I was reading.

After school Cecilia and I went to the post office to mail a few things and then to the bus station to get a schedule since we have to go to Cordoba tomorrow. We decided that we will just stay there for the weekend since we have to go anyways and Monday is a holiday. We plan on visiting the Mosque and the Arabic baths where we can get massages!! We came home and ate lunch with Rachel and now we are just resting cuz it is siesta. Tonight we are having Jessica, Erin and Aleks over for taco night! So after siesta we will go to the grocery store and get food to make. It should be a fun night!

Advertisement



10th October 2008

Hola
I love you, you can read so fast b/c you're from the windy city!!!! love you

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb