Seville...tapas...romance and a luxury stay...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
July 3rd 2016
Published: July 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Seville the romantic way! Here we are! This is my third visit to Seville. First stop, was again with my parents when I was around 12 years old. I do remember the little street of the Old City, but this is as far as where my souvenirs stop.



My next stop was back in 1992 for the World Expo. At the time, all my money went into paying the entry fee for the Expo. So forget about staying in a hotel or even a hostel. So, yes you read it, back in 1992, I slept two days at the airport (not in a hotel, but on the floor!)....that was nice, there is a roof and a clean floor....and 3 nights in the streets...with the stars as only view! The Expo was opening early...and closing late. Due to terrorism threats, the perimeter was super secured...so they let us sleep on benches at bus stops, and by the river.....with a policeman less than 50 meters away! So you guess it...the "shower"....was by the toilets at the Expo. But trust me, that was an amazing trip. Sadly, I had not much time to spend in Seville itself. This was way prior to the digital time, would have love to show you a picture of me sleeping on the street at a bus stop!



So here we are...for another wonderful 24 hours. This time, we go the Obama way, as he is staying in the same hotel as us...a week later....happy it's not at the same time, I enjoy my privacy! I name the Alfonso XIII, on of the Grande Dame of the hotels in Spain, even Europe! Sadly, no decent upgrade and a pretty tiny room....but that's Ok, they made sure I was not that "not happy" by giving me 50% back on my stay...never bad, just for a room I found too tiny!



The hotel is just hyper romantic, the breakfast is sumptuous...and the old style swimming pool, a welcome experience....Happy stay, a seriously romantic one...if only the room was a little larger!



Seville for us was all about food...nice drinks...and obviously, amazing discoveries...



I brought my love to discover the Plaza del Toros. We will not argue here or not about the idea of bull fighting....No fight during our stay, but a beautiful historic building. During our stay, we also woke up early, to visit the Alcazar of Seville. Just make sure you book hours to wander such a place! We did it late morning, just after spending some time on the Plaza del Espana. Funny, I'm not sure my parents ever brought me here, I'm sure I would have remember, as the place is so impressive. The big question here is....what do I really remember from 30 years ago, and the simple idea of this is a pretty fun one!



We did not have much time...or energy, to enjoy the tapas style of Cordoba. In Sevilla, it was a little different! First, little aperitif in our little room...yes, we do bubbles...and you guess what else! Next, Plaza del Toros visit before sunset...next...tapas time! No way I would do it in the Old Town. I have to admit, I have a serious allergy to tourist traps...so if you want the locals, go where they are, and cross the river!



We had some amazing food, and yes, a pretty nice "Jara de Sangria"! The idea here would be to have 28 hours in a day, instead of 24....so we play a lot, visit a lot...and just sleep less!



So you understand by the pictures...and the smiles....we did a lot in 24 hours in Seville! Tapas, some bubbles, even a sangria or two...and finally , I took some time to visit Sevilla properly!



Next stop, we are heading south, with few zigzags on the program!


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb