The sun does shine in Seville


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
August 27th 2006
Published: August 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Did I mention it was hot here? Wow, every day has been in the high 30s or up to 40 degrees. For one of the largest cities in Spain, you sure wouldn´t guess it. By about 1pm everything shuts down and its like a ghost town.

Seville is a mass of narrow, windy streets (many of which are unmarked), cafes, bars and churches. There are beautiful parks everywhere with fountains, statues and beautifully landscaped gardens. You have to be careful which ones you go to though, as some of them I have found are where the sketchy folk like to take their naps, and bathe, and bathroom... Its funny, yesterday I was scorching hot, and just wanted to sit down on a shady park bench and read my book, but then discovered I didn´t want to be alone with the people in there, and all the parks in Seville are within big stone walls - so I had to keep moving, and just settle for the warm water from my water bottle. I went to the ¨Macarena District¨which the guide books don´t tell you, is like the ghetto of Seville. Interesting enough, but I couldn´t get out of there fast enough!

Today I´m going to the Cathedral and am taking the night bus to Valencia. Only 3 days until the tomato fight! Nearly every traveller I´ve met so far is heading to the festival, so I´m likely to run into some familiar faces.

I´m hoping that I can download some photos in Valencia. I´ll post a couple on here, but send me an email if you would like the link to my online photo album.

Take care,
Shauna

Advertisement



29th August 2006

Hi there Sweetie As you can see I got the web site fine this time. This is going to be so cool we can do some traveling through your beautiful eyes. Sounds like you adventure is starting well and your enjoying yourself, all is good here. John just started holidays yesterday and the weather is still lovely. My back is doing much better thank god.... Take care and update often....Love Ant
30th August 2006

Jealous
Hey mate, am very jealous of you right now as I'm sitting at work. Really looking forward to seeing you when you get to Aussie. Hope you are getting used to that hot weather, cause there's plenty of it here too :) JW xxx
2nd September 2006

Hola
Hi Ant! Thanks for the note. Yes this website is so cool. Its just so hard to find available internet, and the time to update it. But I´ll do my best, and its always nice to hear from home as well. I hope you guys are enjoying the last bit of summer. I´m sure enjoying it here! Take care and my love to both you and John.

Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb