Almost the Weekend...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
February 10th 2012
Published: February 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This week has been a bit strange. Unfortunately, my teacher's brother passed away this week so she cancelled all of her classes for today and yesterday. Since the same teacher teaches all my classes, I haven't had any yesterday or today. She seems pretty upset about it (obviously) and we all feel really bad. The worst part is that we have to make up all the class time we missed, so we somehow have to make up 6 hours of class now. Not something I'm really looking forward to doing. But, C'est la vie.

Last night I went out. We always go to this one street called Calle alfalfa, so we went there again last night. I met up with the guys that I used to live with. My memory is a bit foggy, but I remember kissing them a lot (on the cheeks, calm down. That's what Europeans do.) It was nice to see them, especially because most of them don't really speak any English so it really forces me to communicate in Spanish. I think I might be meeting up with some of them again tonight and going to a club.

So in Spain, well I guess they have them everywhere, you can purchase a bike pass for 25euros. They have these bike ports with bikes in them throughout the city and you just swipe your bike card and then you get to use the bike for a half hour. You can return the bike to any bike port in the city. I haven't actually gotten a pass yet but I think I'm going too, because it seems like a pretty good deal if you don't want to spend hours walking everywhere. Anyway, last night I was walking home with a friend who lives in the same building as me and has a bike pass and I decided that using his pass to ride a bike home was a good idea. Not so much. Riding a bike after you've been drinking is a lot harder than it sounds. I ended up crashing into this wall/window thing and cut my knee pretty good. I think it's going to leave a pretty bruise. Lesson learned!

I'm really excited for next weekend. On Friday we're taking a bus to the straight of Gibralter. Apparently there are a lot of monkeys there and we get to play with them! On Saturday we're taking a bus to a city called Cadiz, which is also on the coast, for something called Carnival. The bus leaves at 8 pm and comes back at 5am, so it's going to be a long night. I'm not really sure what Carnival is, but I know I have to wear a costume. Maybe it's Spain's version of Halloween? We'll see, I've heard it's a can't miss!

Well, I suppose I'll go watch a movie now or something.

Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb