Dog Blood


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
May 19th 2009
Published: May 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Back in Spain. Seville, to be exact.

From my last entry, you may think that I hated my trip to Morocco. Not so. The country is beautiful, the people are very hospitable (once you get to know them), and I still drool at the mention of Berber whiskey. I ate more tangines than I care to count, and I got to see snake charmers for chrissake. I loved Morocco. I hated the harrassment. And towards the end, I was getting pretty militant about it.

After Fez, we took a 4 hour bus ride through some of the curviest mountain terrain I have ever experienced. The driver had the delightful habit of speeding up on the turns; I thought we were going to tip over and fall to our deaths every 5 seconds. But the death-bus was worth it--at the end of the road lay the periwinkle tinted town of Chefchaouen. Our spirits immediately lifted. The hassles were still ubiquitous, but at least they were calling us "flower" and not "dog blood."

I had my heart set on treking, so I when I discovered there weren't any hikes available on the day I wanted, I set out on my own. The path led into the Rif Mountains. It was uphill and hot, but the views were breathtaking. The midday call to prayer sprung from the city below and reverberated in the hills around me. Quite a unique experience. I had the trail completely to myself which at first was quite exhilarating, and then started to make me feel paranoid. Female + alone + biggest pot producing area in Morocco = time to turn around and get some tangine. And so i did.

After leaving Chefchaouen (and getting one last mint tea in), we hopped the ferry back to Spain, changing into sleeveless shirts as soon as we got on the boat. Lauren and I had been wearing roughly the same outfits the entire week and both looked and smelled like a hot mess. Yes, I am a dirty, dirty backpacker.

Next up: Portugal


Advertisement



19th May 2009

Cool!
Long-sleeved shirts because of modesty? Welcome to my world... EVERY DAY OF THE WEEK. When you get a sec, I'd be interested in knowing the decisions/thoughts/whatever that led up to your trip, how you planned, what you're hoping to accomplish, etc. Need some back story, you know. You denied me a premise and jumped right into the rising action! Tell me a story, damnit! But so so happy for you, and uber jealous. Wish I was there... you don't know how badly.
25th May 2009

Back story...hmmm. You got it. I will have to make that my next entry!

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb