starting school...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
October 18th 2008
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I had my induction at the school about a week and a half ago… there were 5 other teachers starting at the same time as me and there’s about 25 teachers altogether at the school. We had lots of meetings with different teachers about the timetables and routines for each class we have… our heads were just buzzing by the end of it all!

The next day, I only had 2 classes - with teenagers though… yikes! My first class was HORRIBLE! The boys were lovely and really made an effort to speak in English but the girls were full of attitude and were rolling their eyes at me every few minutes - arghhh! I can’t wait until the next class as I’m going to split up the chatty girls and make them sit next to smelly boys and see how they like that! My next class was with 11 and 12 year olds and they were great… full of energy and they loved all the games I had planned for them.

Friday was completely exhausting as I was teaching solidly for 5 classes - each class being 45 minutes long… and with the little ones as well! I forgot how much energy and enthusiasm you have to put in and by my last class, I was checking my clock every 2 minutes just wishing the time away as I was shattered! I’m teaching the babies of the school… 5 year olds who look absolutely tiddly! Considering that they didn’t speak more than a few words of English, we actually had quite a laugh singing songs and playing games and their eyes lit up at the end of the class when I gave them all a sparkly sticker! The slightly older kids were also great and were laughing away during all the games and activities.

I managed to drag myself to the nearby bar after classes to have a few drinks with the other teachers… all of us had very croaky voices indeed! I met up with some of them on Saturday night as well and we had drinks with some of the teachers from Phil’s school too… I also met a guy who is the cousin of Liam and Noel Gallagher from Oasis! Phil wanted to go to this club called ‘buddha’ but I told everyone to put him off the idea, as I wanted to take him to the restaurant part the next day for his birthday! Luckily, he decided he was too tired to walk there anyway so we headed home instead.

On Sunday, we celebrated Phil’s birthday with a boat trip down the river at night time, which was beautiful and we then tucked into a delicious asian meal.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb