Tapas, tapas y más tapas!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville » Bormujos
June 8th 2011
Published: June 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sometimes I think about how much I’ve learned in the 2.5 weeks I’ve been here…and other times I realize how much I do not know about the language. I am pretty certain, though, that the sign on the door of the servicio (bathroom) with a dress is for mujeres. Call me confused, but when I went to use it when we were out for tapas, there definitely was a hombre in it…with the door open…and I suddenly questioned whether men actually wore dresses, if my Spanish was so bad I couldn’t even read signs without words or if I suddenly became disoriented in a different universe. Then Nacho came out of the other one and I felt much better about myself and decided it really was not that important to visit the servicio at that particular tapas location.

Moving on…
We have a pet moth in our room. It’s about the size of my thumb and it likes to fly in my hair and around our light. I actually didn’t really want a pet here, but we can’t seem to make it disappear because our Señora keeps shutting our door and/or putting our blinds down (there are no screens on the windows here). I’m pretty sure it doesn’t have a big enough brain to figure out how to get out.

Earlier today we visited Museo de Bellas Artes. If I remember correctly, it was a monestary or cloister or something of the like. In general, not terribly impressed—not that the art isn’t impressive, but it’s not really the period that strikes me (much of it was Gothic) and I don’t really like the darkness or really the composition of the pieces. I can appreciate it for art and for the experience, but eh…just didn’t need to study each piece for hours. Photos actually intrigue me a lot more. (Betcha never would have guessed that…). In general non-fiction interests me more than fiction and I have more interest in historical fiction than non-fiction in general, so that only makes sense that made up paintings only somewhat intrigue me. No matter, was a nice visit. Afterward was when we began our tapas excursion. Minus Marta, we all went in search of a tapas bar that was open early enough for us to try tapas. We started around the Plaza de Incarnación. Since they weren’t really serving yet, we had a bunch of cold tapas. The amazing thing was that in total, it only cost each of us 1.40 Euros for the food. Amazingly cheap!! I really wanted to try the croquetes setas (mushroom concoction covered in breading and fried), but as they were hot, I could not. (Didn’t start serving til the time we left). While we were there I popped into the pharmacy next door and attempted to ask the pharmacist for a nasal decongestant that did not contain an antihistamine. Mind you, I pretty much know none of those words in Spanish. Luckily the word for antihistamine must be pretty close and the antihistamine that was in one of the nasal sprays she showed me was close enough to the word in English that I could figure out that was what it was. She also said only for five days. I was like, five days? That’s it! After using it I can definitely say that I found the right thing! Yay! Go me! It’s a fun difficult to try to communicate in that situation when I’m not in dire need, but I am looking for something.

We decided to try to find Plaza Alfalfa again…and we ate at another tapas bar. At THAT bar I was able to try the croquetes, but they didn’t have mushrooms; solomente jamón y can’t remember the name but it was a type of seafood and that’s the one I had and they were soooooo good. Also ordered Tortilla Española (love!) and up to that point I had had a couple Tinto de Veranos and FINALLY tried real Sangría…yay!! I think I still like the Tintos better…they’re Tinto with soda como lemon-lime. Sangría is un poquito más fuerte (a little bit stronger) and frutier. I enjoyed nibbling on the little pieces of citrus fruit in it. Random: there was a gathering of people watching a bull fight on tv. I took a picture because of the cultural aspect, but I couldn’t possibly watch it. Made me cringe when I glanced at the bull on the way back to our table outside. Katie and I took a side trip while in the plaza to an heladería with the most amazing ice cream flavors. I had to get the next size up so that I could try both top choices – Chocolate negro y Chocolate con naranja (dark chocolate and chocolate-orange). Oh my gosh
Oh My Gosh...so funny!!Oh My Gosh...so funny!!Oh My Gosh...so funny!!

We're walking down the street on the way to tapas #1...Duffin Dagels? Duffin Dagles. Duffin Dagles?? Bahhhhahahaha! We all had to take a picture of that one!
they were delightfully delicious and I think I’m going to have to return there to gobble more of it up.

After that tapas bar, we went in search of more comida…except this time it was mainly for postre; something sweet. I was about ready to split at the seams, so I only ended up cleaning up the end of Faye’s chocolate amazingness while we sat on the steps outside of the Cathedral in Alcentral being serenaded by the music of a violinist, bassist and accordionist. We thought…how European! We made sure to hop on the metro before it closed for the night. Unfortunately we’re all going to need to recharge our metro cards as we’ve pretty much used up the money the school put on them for us (too bad we didn’t know more about it ahead of time). No matter. I enjoy the transportation system here! So efficient!! After we got back to our locale, we sat out at O’Neill’s and enjoyed more beverages and later moved inside which I was glad for because it was getting a bit chilly and for the second part of the day, I was battling the Marilyn Monroe look (wind + dress = trouble). Katie and I checked out early enough to come back and attempt to get some work done and sleep. Glad we went out though as we finally had an opportunity to talk to Cinthia a little bit more. Cinthia is an exchange student from Brazil. She’s been here in Sevilla for four months and will be studying English in London for a few weeks next.

Un buen día!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

With Ramon & SangriaWith Ramon & Sangria
With Ramon & Sangria

The waiter stuck the Sangria in the photo, lol


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb