Granada to Nerja


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Nerja
September 26th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Raining on La Costa del Sol (coast of the sun)


It was cloudy when I left Granada. Funny, I caught the local bus going the wrong direction. The driver tried to tell me, but I could not understand him. It was not until we got onto the highway that I turned to another rider and asked where the bus station was. I got off at the next stop, but had the same driver going back. Thankfully, I'd left with 2 hours to spare. I got to the bus station with an hour remaining before my bus. I got to see the newer part of Granada, it is very pretty and has some nice pedestrian bridges over the river.

My journey was filled with amazing women. The first, I am guessing at 60 or 70, has traveled alone all over the world. We had the most wonderful chat until they called my bus. She strongly suggests 3 month journeys, and small towns where one can live as a local. I am inspired! The next, my seat mate on the bus, was from Holland and is having a short holiday on the sun coast before heading to language class for a week in Granada. She has just quit her job, and is traveling a bit before heading back home to find another. The last was working at the desk at my hotel. She was just getting off work, and we chatted in the bar for a couple hours before she headed home. She was born in Nerja, and has lived in Granada. Her job in Nerja is up in 3 weeks (tourist season is nearly over), and is headed to London next week to try and find a job.

Anyway! It was cloudy when I left Granada, and started raining as we came out of the Sierra Nevadas. It is a light Seattle-type rain, so I put on my rain jacket and went off to seek lodging for the next few days. I found a hotel a few blocks from the beach, which is quite nice; the prices have dropped as the tourist season is low now, so the price is not bad.

Pictures tomorrow, as the grey won't photograph well. Off to forage.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 93; dbt: 0.0874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb