Granada and the Playground of the Rich/Marbella


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Marbella
October 1st 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So the other weekend I went with my rotary group and 2 other exchange students to Granada. It was very cool. I got to skip school Friday so that made a lot better. haha. I still had to wake up kinda early. My host dad Paco took me to some random gas station and a bus met me there with the other exchange students and my rotary group in it. The trip up was very nice. My rotary group consists of about 2 Spaniards. The rest are foreign like me. They all have traveled all over the world. The leader of the club's name is Nina and she is from Denmark. They all are so amazing. When ever I go on a trip with them they pay for everything. The food, transportation, and things we do. Its awesome! They also speak of a possible trip to the UK which would be so amazing. I love them! When we arrived in Granada we dropped our stuff down in the hotel. Ohh a weird thing about Spain or all of Europe I don't know, but when you walk into most bathrooms you will find two toilets. One that is very familiar to the American eye the other you would think it is a urinal......but its not. haha. I always take the save road and use the one I know, Someone used the other one for something it is not used for and there was hell to pay. hahaha!! Anyway we left our hotel and walked around the city. We stopped at a place to eat. I don't really know how to describe the food. They cook with a lot of oil. I ordered some kind of burger. It was good. Some of the differences in our countries. In the U.S. I am not of age to drink. In Spain I am not of age to drink, but they don't care they ask me anyway what I would like. So I tell them. I ordered a beer called Alhambra which is also the famous castle in Granada. We tried to go there but you have to order tickets a month in advance, but we were allowed to enter the gardens. When the Muslims owned southern Spain they built many castles one of the most famous one is Alhambra. It has all kinds of bath houses in it and gardens. Google it. After we left Alhambra we walked up all kinds of narrow streets and plazas to this restaurant where I ate the longest meal of my life. It consisted of 4 hours. There were many tapas and whines. It was very good, and some of the people were a tad bit drunk but I didn't mind. They were having fun even though they were a little older than adults. After that it was kinda late. The others went to the hotel and the other exchange students and I walked around the city. We got back pretty late. In the morning we had breakfast and met 2 other exchange students that live in Granada. One from Sweden, the other from Florida. We then toured the city. After that we all piled back into the bus and then drove to Marbella. Marbella is called the playground of the rich because it is the richest port in the world. All kinds of people come to Marbella and park their yacht in the harbor. Some of these yachts have helicopters landed on them. They are huge. I had dinner and had a couple of beers (haha that is so weird to say) around the port with a rotarian and the other exchange students. Then we went to his house to sleep. Then the next morning we went to Nina's house for cake and coffee. In Spain they have 2 Christmases. One on the 25th of December where they only gather around friends and family and party. The other on the 6th of January where they do the traditional Christmas. At Nina's house she invited to have a traditional Danish Christmas at her house in Spain for the 25th. That should be fun. After coffee a rotarian took me home to Malaga. The weekend was very nice. Another thing I have noticed about Spain. The people that drive and walk on the streets are crazy. They drive very crazy and the people here literally walk in front of cars so they will stop. So every day when I walk home from school there is so much confusion when I am trying to cross the street. Just some of the things I notice. My trip was awesome. So far I would have to say my favorite city is Madrid.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb