Day 28


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
June 10th 2012
Published: June 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I think that Sunday was a day we had been dreading, but fortunately procrastinating.

A quick outline of what we did: four of us met up and played soccer in the park. Then we met later in the day for the soccer game versus Italy, and then dinner at 9:30 pm. I feel that this program has been too short. I feel that I just began making new friends and getting settled into Segovia and then I have to leave. There is a saying: Spain is Different. It is the damn truth. I have never been more in love with a place and had so much fun with a group of people. I’ve been spoiled. I am writing this from my hostel in Granada and I feel all alone because the best group that I have ever known has to go its own separate ways. I am sorry that things had to happen this way. I wish that I could have stayed with them longer. I can honestly say that this adventure that I am embarking on, a tour of South Spain, is absolutely terrifying. Being terrified about going somewhere new is not something I am used to. Please don’t get me wrong because I will meet new people and enjoy my time here. But I am ready to go home for the first time. I want to see my best friend, my family, and my city. It’s the people that make home be home. And there is no way that I will be able reproduce what I had here. I do have to say that I will not be returning to Segovia. It can never be the same city that I left today. As I crossed Spain and saw the Sierra Nevada Mountains in sunset, I knew that I am not in Kansas anymore. I am truly afraid, not for my life or anything that dramatic, but that I will not be able to let this experience go and live in the present. I know that I left a part of me in Segovia, too. It is not anything that I will ever get back.

But the thing is that knowing all of this, knowing all of the fear that I have now, I would still do it again in a heartbeat. I remember scaling castles with my buds, getting my back scratched when I got sick, having the chance to go somewhere else with people that I did not know and finding my nitch. I want to say to all you reading this: thank you. I miss you a lot. We had better hang out this fall.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb