El fin de semana


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
January 22nd 2012
Published: January 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

This weekend was nice and relaxing. Saturday we woke up to go shopping at 10. I would have preferred to go later, but since stores close at 2:00 for siesta, we started earlier. Spain had two big sale times, in January and February, and in August. Every store you walk by has “Rebajas!” (discounts) in the windows. Absolutely everything is marked down. I figure I should just get all my shopping done now then I won’t have to worry about it later. The streets were a lot more crowded than I’ve ever seen them. Of course, it was the weekend, but it was also such a beautiful day. I have started to notice signs that the weather is getting better. Restaurants are setting up their outdoor seating areas, and more people are walking around, and hanging out in the plazas.

Let me just give you a picture of these discounts. I ended up buying two pairs of boots, a jacket, some blouses, a purse, and a skirt. And it only cost me about $50! I love rebajas! My boots were only 7 euros each; that’s less than $10! At two, we started heading back for lunch. I ended up reading the rest of the afternoon while Courtney and Malissa went out shopping again at 5:00. I loved getting all my new stuff, but I cannot shop more than four hours in one day.

Today, we woke up late, and Courtney and I went for a run in the park. It was such a beautiful day! Afterwards, we just sat by the fountain enjoying the sun. Around 2:00 we started for home. We must have completely zoned off because we noticed that it was taking a very long time to get home. We didn’t recognize where we were at all. We went up one block and turned around to head back the other way. We walked for about ten minutes more, and still didn’t know where we were. I eventually asked a man passing where the Parque Federico Garcia Lorca was (that was where we ran) and he told me it was in the direction we were walking, but pretty far. At least we were on the right track. We kept walking and found our street. Our detour had taken us 30 minutes, when it only takes about ten to walk from the park to home. We got back and lunch was ready for us: paella with chicken, another popular Spanish dish with rice, chicken, vegetables, and a special sauce. ¡Muy deliciosa!

The rest of the day, we’ve just been reading our books, and I started trying to figure out travel plans for the next month. There’s a delicious looking ice cream shop nearby that we may visit tonight. A little treat for the end of the weekend.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb