GANAMOS OTRA OTRA VEZ


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
July 12th 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

¡Hola!

As many of you may know, Spain won the World Cup last night. I will save that for the end as I like to write in chronological order.

Friday night's flamenco show was really cool. It was in a very tiny cave (yes literally a cave) where about 40 of us sat in chairs around a small dance floor. (Sorry, it's going to be really hard to picture until you see the photos... just do your best). The dancers were so close to us that their skirts touched our legs and one especially enthusiastic dancer got me in the eye with the fringe on her shawl. It was invigorating to be hit in the eye by the shawl fringe of a flamenco dancer. It was really fun--the best dancer was a guy who stomped so loud it made me flinch. There were three dances, each of which told a story I think. I'm not sure what the stories were, except I know there was a marriage. One really cool thing was that the music was live (I don't know if that's obvious or not, but it was really impressive).

Saturday morning we set off early for Cordoba. When we got there we toured the mosque/cathedral (it was originally a mosque but turned into a cathedral by Isabel and Ferdinand). Muy interesante. We also walked through the old Jewish quarter and ate at 101 Tapas (they actually had 101!). It was extremely hot there, it would probably be more fun to visit on a day other than July 10.

Then we drove to Sevilla for the night and Sunday. I walked around with some friends and we found good dinner and then an Irish pub with surprisingly quite a few real Irish people inside it (I just didn't know there would be a bunch of Irish people in Sevilla). On Sunday morning we had a tour of the Royal Palace, which was definitely my favorite historical tour so far (maybe my favorite thing that I've seen). I'm really looking forward to the Alhambra now because it has a lot in common with the palace in Sevilla. It was built and added on to over like eight centuries, the main part built by the Moors in the 12th century. It was beautiful, plus there were a lot of cool ideas behind the architecture and decorations and everything. Also, we got to see certain places where, for example, Christopher Columbus and Isabel and Ferdinand would have been. I loved it. Then we had some free time... I would have liked to spend more time in Sevilla, or even have the main program in Sevilla. It seemed like a great place. I would definitely like to go back there someday.

We made it back to Granada in time to walk to our favorite bar to watch the WC finals. For the last two games that bar has been almost empty except for us, but it filled up pretty quickly for this one. When Spain scored towards the end the place erupted and there was lots of hugging and other types of merry-making. A few minutes later they won and and it was ridiculously exciting. Then, I obviously bought a Spain flag to wear as a cape and we went out to dance in the streets. There were so many people out there--climbing on things, dancing, honking--just a lot of general shenanniganery. I'm so glad I was there to experience it. The only bummer is that I don't think the team is coming to Granada for a parade (as in Barcelona and Madrid). I saw them in Madrid on the news today and the streets were packed as they rode through on a double-decker bus. That would be fun.

So that's pretty much all for my boring weekend... sorry there's not much to talk about. I'll write again whenever I can think of something interesting.

Hasta escribo.

Advertisement



13th July 2010

wow
thrilling my baya--i can almost picture it all. and hear that loud sharp stomping. who knew you'd be in spain when they took the world cup? were pablo and ismael there to celebrate with ? save everything--remember everything--so we can make dearie a book she'll read every day! carry on--miss you--having fun with kevin. well, he's still here. love too much, momma

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb