Fair well and a due to my fair Spanish lady


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
January 17th 2010
Published: January 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

CIMG0479CIMG0479CIMG0479

My walk home from school
thank you all so much for the comments, messages, and positive thoughts you are sending my way. It makes the distance seem not so far, and I feel very blessed! If I don't respond don't feel bad, I will and I greatly appreciate every thought!!

This past Friday I went to the Albeicine with my roommate Holly. We went on a guided tour through the school. The Albeicine is an Arab city in Granada. Spain in general has a lot of Arabic influences. You can really see it in the architecture. The Albeicine was beautiful, it's a town with really narrow cobble stone streets (my feet hurt haha). We walked up and up and up learning about the architecture, and about the city as we did. When we finally got to the top we got to a look out that looked out over all of Granada. You could really see the Sierra Nevada Mountains from here too. It also gave you a very good view of the Alahmbra. The Alahmbra is an Arab palace I believe, I will be visiting it sometime on this trip. It was one of the most breath taking views I've ever seen. I'm still trying
CIMG0480CIMG0480CIMG0480

Sierra Nevada Mountains
to figure out how to put pictures up on here, so hopefully that will be soon. The camera doesn't really do it justice, but it just makes you remember that there is so much beauty in the world.

Fun fact... If you ever come to Granada you will notice that there is a ridiculous amount of fountains. Last night I found out that is because the Arab people who settle in Spain were obsessed with water. Since they're from the desert they didn't get much of it, so the incorporated it into the architecture. But who doesn't enjoy a good fountain?!?

I have class everyday from 9 to 1 until the end of January, then my schedule changes. So this past Friday, I just woke up with a smile on my face. They're are good days and bad just like anywhere I am, but this was just one of those really good days. For the first time in a while the sun was out, and there wasn't a cloud in the sky. My walk to school is beautiful (working on getting pictures up!!). They way to school is like climbing a cobble stone mountain with stairs included (buns of steal man). On the walk home, I'm facing the Sierra Nevada Mountains, and it's all down hill from there 😊 The sky was so clear, and the view again was breath taking, sometimes you just need something like that to put your head back on straight... So like the tourist that I am, I wiped the camera out, and took pictures the whole 15 minute walk home. It was one of those rare moments that we all experience in life where all is right in the world. I took a detour on the way home and walked along the river, taking pictures as I went. I found a beautiful fountain (I was shocked too!!) that had orange trees surrounding it (there are orange trees everywhere here!). They also have these creepy Spanish trees, that to me look like the tree from the movie Poltergeist. For those of you who've seen the movie know that that's pretty creepy, but mysterious.

After getting back to the apartment, I went on about my routine. Normally after school gets out I walk in and put all my books down, do a little homework, then go help my mother Teresa set the table, and just chat. We eat, then I go have coffee with my lovely mother. At this point it's about 2:30 in Spain and about 7:30 in MN. I actually really look forward to this time of the day, and occasionally my dad makes it! He has a new schedule that allows for that. Bella and Cleo are usually present too. I try to talk to Bella but she just looks wicked confused, and a little too excited. haha.

Even with all the problems with the economy right now, and the disaster in Haiti, this experience has made me appreciate everything more. It's kind of cheesy, but remember to take a minute everyday if you can to appreciate something beautiful (weather it's scenery, a big chocolate bar, or a person you really love). End of sappy moment.

Love you all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

CIMG0483CIMG0483
CIMG0483

More of the walk home from school
CIMG0484CIMG0484
CIMG0484

Park by the river (where I run)
CIMG0485CIMG0485
CIMG0485

Look!!! A fountain!!
CIMG0486CIMG0486
CIMG0486

I think this is a very romantic fountain
CIMG0489CIMG0489
CIMG0489

The river. There usually isn't water in it I've been told
CIMG0490CIMG0490
CIMG0490

Creepy poltergeist tree
CIMG0491CIMG0491
CIMG0491

Walking to the Albeicine, you can kind of start to see the Alahmbra here
CIMG0492CIMG0492
CIMG0492

I was just excited to see grass!
CIMG0493CIMG0493
CIMG0493

Cat in the tree
CIMG0497CIMG0497
CIMG0497

This is part of the Albeicine. up and up and up
CIMG0498CIMG0498
CIMG0498

The Alahmbra
CIMG0499CIMG0499
CIMG0499

Alahmbra again


18th January 2010

Wow!
Love your pictures Katie! It really does look gorgeous there!

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb