first day of school.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
January 11th 2010
Published: January 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today was the first day of classes, and it went pretty well, other than I got really lost. I wasn't aware that I had to go to a different campus. I sat down in a phonetics class (I've already taken that, and don't ever plan to touch it again), and realized that I was for sure in the wrong spot, so I snuck out and went down stairs to quickly ask someone how to get to the other campus. She started rambling off stuff to me, and pointed to a map and said find it yourself. Well on normal circumstances I would, but I'm a little out of my element. Good thing I left my sassy pants in the US, because I was pissed.

Other than that the rest of the first day of school went rico suave. One of the activities that we had to do involved being given a question and having to ask everyone in the class that. I got my question, and all I could do was laugh. Te gustan las playas nudistas? (Do you like nude beaches was my question). Everyone else got do you play an instrument, or what's your favorite color, and I get do you like nude beaches, this is on my list of things to do while I'm here so it didn't bother me, but man it even made the kid from France blush. However I had a long chat about it with my teacher, and she loves them.


As frustration started to turn into loneliness, I started seeking out people other than the other Americans, and my family. The sun finally came out so I went for a run (which is really hard to do on cobble stone roads). The views were gorgeous, so I focussed on that and the mountains.
In Minnesota, usually if you smile at someone on the street they return the favor. It's like I don't exists here. I really need someone to stop and smile at me on the street so I know that they know I'm here. I gave a guy walking his dog a head nod while I was running, and he looked at me like I was crazy.

Advertisement



11th January 2010

agreed
Agreed about the smiling thing! I have noticed that too and it soooo strange. Even if you literally run into someone and say lo siento and smile they just stare! it's the strangest thing! We'll have to meet up soon tho :) are you at the CLM?
13th January 2010

1ST DAY IN STRANGE PLACE
I KNOW IT WELL. WHEN I WAS FIRST IN MEXICO CITY, I REALLY FELT ALONE AS WELL. ALTHOUGH MY ROOM-MATES AND FAMILY WERE VERY NICE, WE DIDN'T REALLY CLICK. ALTHOUGH, SPAIN MUST BE A LITTLE DIFFERENT, AS IN MEXICO CITY, THEY WOULDN'T LEAVE ME ALONE!!!! I DON'T KNOW WHICH IS WORSE! AS I WAS THERE A LITTLE LONGER, I MET A COUPLE OTHER TEACHERS THAT I COULD HANG WITH, AND THAT MADE THE TIME GO A LOT FASTER. WE TRAVELED TOGETHER, ALL OVER THE PLACE, ON WEEKENDS. YOU WILL MEET OTHER STUDENTS, ETC, AND I KNOW YOU WILL HAVE A BALL. THEY PROBABLY THINK YOU ARE A LOCAL, AS YOUR COLORING KIND OF FITS THE BILL!!!!!! LOVE YOU/TAKE CARE. DEE/PETE
13th January 2010

Katie in Spain -- I'm jealous
Katie....how exciting for you to be in Spain. Changes take time....you will have many friends in no time. Cultures are so different. Remember "when in Rome, do as the Romans." Just be safe....take it all in and ask questions to your teachers so you can understand things...i.e., like why people do not smile back. And, "what do people think when I smile at them?" :):) I'm smiling to you as I write this note! Love you....we will be in touch!!!! Hugs from Eagan, MN
14th January 2010

You go Katie!! Keeping nodding and smiling!!
14th January 2010

Here's a smile for you!
Hi Katie-I'm glad you arrived in Spain safely. I'm really glad we can connect through this blog. What a great idea. This is going to be a thrill of a live time. Take it all in and enjoy it. Bob says "hi" and he misses your smile and laugh. I'm thinking about you, have fun and have some red wine for me!
15th January 2010

Home
Hi Katie...No matter what goes on in Spain, you know it is a life long learning experience and you will look back and realize how lucky you are to be there. Your momma is coming over tomorrow morning to knit and visit/things haven't changed here =) Visit the nude beaches/it will give you something to chat about when you return home.. Love, Jane xoxo
15th January 2010

You go Katie!! Keeping nodding and smiling!!
23rd January 2010

Apple Valley
Hi Katie, The Pictures of Granada look cool. keep smiling and laughing, love the blog. Many hugs kido. We all love you.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb