My Granada Adventure Continues...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
July 3rd 2007
Published: July 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

GranadaGranadaGranada

View of the Alhambra from the Arab Quarter
I'm officially in love with Granada, my friend Katy is studying here this fall and frankly I'm jealous!

There isn't anything I don't love about the city, well except the creepy guys, but o wait that's all over Spain and Europe! Yesterday I went to visit the Alhambra and the Generalife (gardens). It was completely amazing to see what kind of architecture they had back then, it is like the Roman aqueduct in Segovia, I'm thinking they both did it better hundreds of years ago, then we do today.

For all of you that didn't know, the 7 wonders of the world are being changed in a couple of days and you can go online to new7wonders.com and vote on your picks. Most of the 7 wonders are from the ancient world, just around the Mediterrean. Some of the new wonders that are being voted on are the Alhambra, the Taj Majal, the Statue of Liberty, Chitzen Itza, Effel Tower, etc...

I got an audio guide, so whereever you go there are signs with numbers on them, and you just type them into the handheld thing and it tells you all about it. I was there for about 4 hours and took over 300 pictures, which I promise to get up soon, but I need to get a CD made of my pics.

Today I walked down to the Genil River, which again was more like a creek, I think because they haven't had a lot of rain. I sat in a park and read and ate my breakfast, which was so healthy. It was a Napolatana pastry, my new favorite, it is a square crossiant filled with chocolate and topped with chocolate sprinkles and honey! Yea pretty much heaven on earth, this would be yet another cause for me not loosing weight here. I walked around the shopping district for a while (and bought a few things of course!). Eventually I had lunch, gazpacho, I'm addicted to it now and a yummy pasta dish.

It was a pretty chill day all in all, just walking around and reading my book which I'm almost done with, so I will need to buy another book or wait 3 days until Rachel brings me some. Tomorrow I'm taking a bus tour of the city, because I'm sick of walking around. It comes with an audio guide and you can get off at any of the stops and get back on every 30 minutes. You can even use your audio guide while walking around, they have a map of a walking tour you can take by yourself. It is nice to have those, because otherwise you look at something and I'm like "o that's nice" and then I move on. But if I have something that is explaining it and giving me the history behind it, I can appreciate it a lot more.

I'll keep you updated with how my tour goes. Also, I'm visiting the Gypsy Neighborhood tomorrow, so hopefully I do not get kidnapped.

My friend Christina pointed out to me today, that I'm like Carmen Sandiego, she said, "Where in the World is Amanda?" For all of you that get that reference, AWESOME. But if you don't I'll breifly explain. It was a computer game, and board game, she solved crimes and the clues led her around the world. So you constantly had to guess "where in the world is Carmen Sandiedo?" She was the coolest person alive (cartoon rather) when I was about 10.

¡Muchos Besos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

View of the Alhambra from the Arab QuarterView of the Alhambra from the Arab Quarter
View of the Alhambra from the Arab Quarter

On the right is the military base and the buildings on the left are the palaces
The AlhambraThe Alhambra
The Alhambra

This is the palace, not amazing on the outside, but that was the point, all the beauty lies within...
the Alhambrathe Alhambra
the Alhambra

This is the military base, it has a view of all of Granada
View of the Alhambra from the Arab QuarterView of the Alhambra from the Arab Quarter
View of the Alhambra from the Arab Quarter

I love it when I ask stupid people who don't know how to use cameras to take a picture of me... I said with the Alhambra in the background, but half of it cut out is the same thing, right?
The Mirador de San NicolasThe Mirador de San Nicolas
The Mirador de San Nicolas

This is where the other pictures were taken from... this is also the sight of the Moroccan guy hitting on me...
Paseo de los TristesPaseo de los Tristes
Paseo de los Tristes

A little plaza area, right below the Alhambra, I've read here a couple of times... it's along the Darro "river" aka the creek
Burro TaxiBurro Taxi
Burro Taxi

fyi burro=donkey... I still can't figure out if this is a joke or for real?


4th July 2007

Love your blog....
Hi Amanda, I love reading your blog. You make it so interesting and really explain what you're seeing. I'm with the Darke's.... journalism is your forte'!! I know your Dad and Rachel are coming soon. Have fun... enjoy and keep up the blogs.... they're great!! Stay safe~

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb