Córdoba: The Rain in Spain ...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Córdoba
May 31st 2005
Published: November 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Woke up this morning to rain. First real rainy day in about two months of travelling so can’t complain. Got out my 30 Sole raincoat which I bought in Cuzco, Peru. Don’t know what it is made of, but seems to work okay so long as it is not exposed to water ... just kidding it’s not that bad, kept mostly dry, and Córdoba is the birth place of the Roman philosopher Seneca who was a bit of a Stoic, so was quite stoic about the rain myself.

About 9 am went for a walk around the streets, did not get too lost this time. It seemed early to me but there were still quite a few tour groups around, mostly Japanese. Went to the old Jewish Synagogue and was surprised to find (what I guess from the things they were wearing) a Jewish group praying. I think it was a Jewish Tour Group and they got permission to pray there.

There was a time when Córdoba was a beacon of light while the rest of Europe was wallowing in the dark ages. In Córdoba, and I think other parts of Spain, Muslims, Jews, and Christians lived more or less side-by-side. Hence the existence of a synagogue. However, I think this all changed after the Catholic Reconquista and the expulsion of Jews and Muslims after 1492. (Apologies to scholars of Spanish/Religious History if I have got it wrong.)

Went to the Bus Station (which is next to the Train Station) to buy a ticket to Granada for Saturday, no problems. The walk there and back to the hostel did not seem so long without my backpack.

If fined up after about midday as I was walking back the hostel, so took the opportunity to take some more photos around the Jewish Quarter, and also from across the Roman Bridge looking back towards the Old City. Found the Mezquita and took a couple of photos through a doorway. Will probably go inside tomorrow.


Want to see more photos?

Have a look at my website here: http://www.firemanonasailingship.com/photos/




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb