the alcazar de los reyes cristianos


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Córdoba
June 26th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

AlcazarAlcazarAlcazar

The building is surrounded by beautiful gardens and fountain. I even got to climb up to that huge tower!
Well, my plans changed just a bit today... I spent the morning at the alcazar de los reyes cristianos which is a massive castle building of islamic architecture, but was designed and built by christians! I´ve included a picture of the building. The entire city of Cordoba is a mixture of arab, christian, and jewish heritage. I think there is much to learn from this combination.

I had planned to go to Granada tomorrow morning, but as its turning out, I won´t go until evening time. I´m just really enjoying the chance to feel out the southern culture here in Cordoba.

It is another extremely hot day. I´m going to bike up to a river in a while with some natives. Apparently it´s this amazing place that you can swim and enjoy the countryside. I´m pretty excited about it! I´ve decided that the adventure will be best kept in my own memory, though... rather than risk a damaged camera! So, unfortunately, you won´t see pics of my time there!

I´m off to play. 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb