arrival in Córdoba


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Córdoba
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Atocha Train Station in MadridAtocha Train Station in MadridAtocha Train Station in Madrid

Here´s a pic of the indoor rainforest!!
hello everyone!!

After leaving the hostel this morning, I walked the entire way to the train station to drop my luggage. I knew that it was going to be a long walk, but it was a nice opportunity to see the city. The green spaces in Madrid are beautiful. The train station was an interesting experience. I stood in a line for about 45 minutes waiting to purchase my ticket. I ended up buying a return trip while I was there because the thought of doing that again was ridiculous! I was also able to leave my big rolling bag there and can pick it up when I pass through on my way to Salamanca next week.
One detail to share, the train station in Madrid has an indoor rain forest! It is really neat, full of fun turtles and interesting birds. (Mom, you would have freaked about the birds!) Anyway, the rain forest creates a crazy humid room! Not fun standing in the line for so long in the humidity. At times, I took my sandals off so that my bare feet could touch the freezing ceramic tiles. Probably full of germs, but it helped moderate my temp. Sometimes I have issues with temperature. ha!

After the train station adventure, I got to see la guernica at the art museum. AMAZING!! I don´t know that I could have been well prepared for the experience... it was just an incredible moment to stare up at that massive painting. The Spanish Civil War came alive on canvas. It was really moving, far more impressive than I had imagined.

After the trip to the museum, I hung out in a big plaza for a while before heading back to the train station. My train left on time (unfortunately, because they have a 5-minute late 100% reimbursment policy). The trip to southern Spain was so neat. There are so many huge castles in the mountains. Also, I saw several vineyards and olive tree farms. It´s always neat to see the rural areas of another place, it sort of gives you a feel for the country as a whole. I made it to Córdoba and decided to be adventurous and take the city bus! Why take a taxi for 5 € if you can take a bus for 1!! I got off at the correct stop and walked a few meters to the hostel.

My room here is nice. There are 6 beds again, female only dorm. They also have this neat terrace on top of the building where people can hang out. Of course right now it´s over 100 degrees, so everyone is in the shade of the city, not up sunbathing! I´m excited to see what that is like during the evening, though.

I saw a golden retriever today... she turned her head at me just like Zoie does. It about brought a tear to my eyes. Give her a nice pet again for me.

Well, I hope this finds everyone well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb