sLOVEnia


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
October 23rd 2006
Published: October 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fall Colors...Fall Colors...Fall Colors...

Amazing walk through the forest to Rasica
Ok everyone...

Log out of your computer, get yourself to the airport, buy yourself (and all your friends) a ticket, and come to Slovenia.

If you can't tell by the above, I'm (still) having the time of my life. Sunday, I went off for a hike on my own to a near-by village and lookout called Rasica. After losing myself in the numerously-pathed hills for over 2 hours, I met this really nice couple (Rok and Anita) from Ljubljana who showed me the way to the lookout tower and then took me a little ways further to a beautiful little village and animal farm.

The lookout tower was AMAZING. After climbing to the top of the hill (not a hard climb, but still, a climb), and then climbing about 10 flights of stairs, I came to this amazing platform with a 360 degree view of Ljubljana, other small villages and towns below, near-by hills, the not-so-far-off Julian Alps, and you can even see on a clear day into the Austrian Alps. Absolutely amazing, especially at this time of year because the hills were on fire with fall colors.

This week so far (I know, its only Monday), I am having a hard time... not because of home-sickness or midterms or anything silly like that though (although I do miss all of you dearly!)... its because I can't decided what to do! The rediculous amount of (free) cultural events and concerts and parties and dances and classes here just continues to astound me! Take tonight for instance: I just came from my first swing dance class, taught by a fantastic man from New York. After this quick blog update, I'm on my way to Metelkova for a free foreign film - The Man Who Stole the Sun - , then to a little pub and Erasmus party to say Happy Birthday to my friend Caroline, and finally to a club called KMS (said Kuh-Muh-Shuh) for a swing dance that our instructor invited us to today! woohoo! And then all this week, there are nearly free (1 Euro) films that are basically jazz documentaries about some amazing sax players and Thelonius Monk, plus rock, punk, and classical concerts everynight, poetry readings at LEAST once a week, plus... plus... plus... (I am starting to sound like a realtor now!)! Ahhh! I love it so much, and this is not special this is EVERY WEEK! But I guess that's what you get in a city of 50,000 students!

But of course, I'll need a break from it all. So Friday me and this great girl JC from Toronto are headed off on a 4-5 day trip to....

TO BE CONTINUED.... 😉

All my love,

Mel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



25th October 2006

Hi
I am SOOOOO glad you are enjoying sLOVEnia!!...and so glad you are making the time to share it with us!! Great photos, Melissa. Keep 'em coming!! Love N.
26th October 2006

wow!
You are such an amazing writer. Reading about your travels and all of the out of the way, little quaint villages, really makes me want to come and visit Europe. You are looking beautiful as ever and I can't wait for you to teach me how to swing dance. Please? kiss kiss

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb