Beautiful Slovenia...


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
September 28th 2006
Published: September 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lake BledLake BledLake Bled

Probably the most commercial place in Slovenia. Very pretty though. Julian ALps are in the background.
So have just spent a lovely ten days with Marta in Slovenia. What a country. What people. Being such a small baby little place you would think there is nothing there. Actually I think many just pass straight through on their way to Austria, Italy or Croatia. This is good as I get to have it all to myself.

Marta came to meet me at the train station at some ungodly hour of the morning. What a sweet thing she is. Albeit a rather tired thing also. We then went onto spend such a wonderful time together. Her friends are great, Slovenians come across as a little reserved and conservative to begin with but they soon loosen up and I found them to be probably the generous giving people I have ever met. But I jump ahead so lets take it one day at a time.

Ljublianja, the capital, is the smallest big town I have visited. Everybody knows each other or at least knows someone somebody else knows. The architecture is very Austrian looking but not on a large scale and the centre of the city is dominated by the Castle on top of a small hill. Not
Julian AlpsJulian AlpsJulian Alps

The Slovenians are very proud of their Alps. On many times I was corected after wrongly identifying a (Slovenian) hill for a mountain.
that you would really notice as the streets have enough life and colour that you would think there is no need to look up. A river snakes its way through the centre and is lined with lovely little cafes. Enjoyed reading the newspaper and drinking the thickest hot chocolate in the world in one of them. Everywhere is within walking distance and although I can understand why some would find the place a tad boring I thought it was great. Perhaps I am a tad boring?

Everywhere is a 2 or 3 hours busride from Ljublianja. For day trips I went to the famous Lake Bled. Very touristy. But really very pretty with the mountains in the background, a church on an island and a castle hanging over a cliff on one side of the lake. Can see why its the one place outside the capital that people visit.

Another day I went up to the Bohin national park and the Julian alps. Very, very impressive indeed. Loads of trails and summits to get to the top off. I shall definately be returning there to do some serious hiking.

But probably the two best days were when
Dolenska RegionDolenska RegionDolenska Region

Marta and Natasha's home region near the Croatian border. Really beautiful. Much of Slovenia looks like this.
we went to Lake Cernika south of Ljublianja and the Doljenske region, which borders Croatia. Lake Cernika is a big lake. No surprise there. But it is surrounded by mountains. Although the Slovenians call them hills. It was such a warm sunny day. We climbed a nearby mountain and I got some great pictures of the surrounding area as we sat and enjoyed a beer at the mountain cafe.

In Doljenske, Martas home region, we were taken by a friend, Natasha and her daughter Sara, to her brothers restaurant. Oh my god. What food. We ate a variety of small dishes ranging from Homemade bread with pate to hot beef stew with vegetables all washed down with Slovenian wine. Some of the wine is very good. Was really stuffed by the end but the courses kept on coming. Had to wave the last dish of pancakes baked in sweet cream and berries. I really cant describe how beautiful the country is. Every village and hill is dominated by a white church tower which are lit up at night. Forests sweep across the hills to the horizon. Interupted by small houses where people have their own little private vineyards.
1st day Slovenia1st day Slovenia1st day Slovenia

Marta and I at the top of Ljubljana castle. Famous for holding out against the Turks once and crazed and a little pissed Slovenian peasants on many an occasion.

A truelly magical land. I miss it already. Why? Because I am now in Bosnia. Sarajevo to be precise. This place is also great but will not write more as I want to spend a few more days here first. Trust all are well. I am great.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb