Little shards of beauty...


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
September 3rd 2006
Published: September 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Man, one thing that is different about Slovenia that really catches me off guard is that service here does NOT come with a smile. Cashiers, waitresses, even customer service reps... they arn't forced into the humiliation of pretending to like their jobs as in Canada and the U.S. For me it's hard because I am so used to the friendly, chatty, smiley, "Oh Hiii... how ARE you today?" said with a whole lotta sugar on top... so when all I hear from them is a price I feel like they are mad at me or something... but that's not it at all! They are just... doing their job, without any Splenda on top!

Anyway, today was fairly uneventful due to my lack of energy after the hike yesterday, but it did have some little beautiful moments! Simona took me down to the flea market that happens every Sunday here. Basically it is the only thing open on Sundays except the Walmart-like store called BTC (said Buh-Tuh-Tsuh). Flea markets here, I found out, are not like flea markets at home where most things are really cheap. Here, everything is authentic antiques and so pretty expensive. Needless to say, I didn't find
River boat girls 2River boat girls 2River boat girls 2

They kept turning around and going under the bridges... so wonderful!
the cheap furniture I was looking for!

When we got down there, I heard some beautiful music coming from below... we looked down to the river and there was an all girls choir singing traditional songs on a river boat... floating back and forth underneath the famous Three Bridges. It was so beautiful! One girl was playing I think a mandolin or small guitar, and then their voices in 3 part harmony, along with the beautiful accoustics offered by the stone bridge... Dobra!

This evening I went bowling with a group of Simona's friends from her hip-hop dance class. It was, well... it was bowling! haha... Some things are just the same everywhere! Between that and watching a bit of her hip-hop dance class, I almost had to ask myself if I was back home again! But then I hear their oh-so-hard-to learn language, and see the wonderful amount of non-Starbucks coffee shops and I remember.... I'm in Slovenia!

Tomorrow, I move into my new appartment and I'm pretty excited! My first time living on my own!

Love you all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



7th September 2006

Slovene Service Makes Me Smile
You're comment about the Slovene service made me laugh. I know exactly what you mean and I've even been in the situation were the bartender poured the wrong drink and refuse to change it. His reasoning was that "We ordered it and it was nothing he could do". It's got its charm though. I've added your blog to our diredtory of travel stories about Ljubljana at SloveniaWelcomes.com Check it out for similar stories.
15th September 2006

I was just reading your blog... :) I'm glad you are having a good time here!!! - I know you went on a mini trip to Austria... are you back in Ljubljana yet? We are namely having street shows with our dance group 'Šola za nastopanje Bast' this weekend if you want to come - if it doesn't rain of course! :) It's sooo much fun - you'll love it :) we'll go out for a drink afterwards for sure and just chill out!!! Well, check our forum at www.bast.si for the show's schedule if you have time - I know you've been quite busy lately with all the erasmus students partying ;) haha... Call me!! Ciao bella :)

Tot: 0.505s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 71; dbt: 0.283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb