Metelkova and Dylan


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We Hired a RowboatWe Hired a RowboatWe Hired a Rowboat

It was fun! honestly. We spent more time bent over the oars rowing than laughing, but hey. The guy didn't even notice we were late in... we coulda been gone a further hour, and he wouldn't've noticed.
I have been listening, for nearly the last three hours, to Bob Dylan. It is because the free internet at my hostel is right next to the bar, and alternative scene in Ljubjlana means, aparently, Bob Dylan. Or the Barman's a nut. One or the other.

But I have been uploading pictures. Some of Rome, and some of Slovenia to Flickr. Sadly, I ran out of upload bandwidth. Grrr... I should be more selective, I suppose.

And I've edited previous entries, to include more photos. I will do this continually, as my patience increases.

Slovenia is a lovely, amazing country. Full of surprises. For instance, it is no cheaper than Italy. I am saving money only because I am not entering museums, I am only walking and wandering. The Old City, centred around Ljubljana Grad (the castle, on the top of the hill) and Stari Trg (literally, Old Square) is beautiful: more amazing old, old buildings, cobblestones that are set so well you can ride over them (and I did!), and strange, magical modern art.

Bohinj and Bled are both places I could come back to. Bled, not so much, but I could see myself spending
There were fiveThere were fiveThere were five

Left to Right: Karen, Jackie, Me(Ailie), Ann and Alex. Four Aussies and a Canook!
a week by Bohinj lake, doing absolutley nothing, except maybe going for a walk, or another swim... or maybe I would be going to the ski fields in the middle of winter, and skiing almost deserted runs.

Although I hear Slovakia is pretty good for skiing, too.

Bled is pretty, in a touristy kind of way. More english than slovene spoken throughout, and please don't try and practice your slovene. The town itself is small, and neat, more like desneyland, than Europe, but just up the (stupidly well signposted) road, is the Vintgar Gorge. This is one of those don't miss destinations. Really. And people look after you better here than they do anywhere else in Europe. I guess they haven't answered the dumb questions too many times...

But now they are playing Sultans of Swing, so I go.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ring the bell for luckRing the bell for luck
Ring the bell for luck

and make a wish. If you don't, the bell will crack!
Enlarge the imageEnlarge the image
Enlarge the image

Seethe title on the right. Yes, it says 'tourist Cheese spots' A Dairy Route? Good photo points? Slovenia: saying it how it is, since 2004.


21st May 2007

Nice photos! Wish we were there. Not at the bar though. You've commented on the scenery but how's the food! How's the public transport? We were glad to hear from you. Have you made any arrangements about your phone?
21st May 2007

Yes, you wish you were here.
I am eating Pizza. And salads. And other healthy stuff (honestly!). The hostels usually provide breakfast, including meat, cheese and bread. So they unofficially provide lunch, as well. Public transport is awesome. Will write about it in my next blog.
30th May 2007

finally caught up!
Ailie I will be checking daily, impatiently awaiting your stories!!! Meanwhile Pete and I continue work and study. I have exams on 21st, 22nd and 25th June then I'm free, but before then is Pete's birthday on 18th June - on 13th June I'm taking him for an Australian Native Outback Degustation dinner (6 courses) at a Coogee Beach Restaurant. Looking forward to it but that is as exotic as it gets for us!! Found your flikr photos woohoo! bring em on!
30th May 2007

Wow so lucky
It looks like your having so much fun over there. We all miss you of course. I cant wait to hear all the stories youll have to tell. Keep up the blogs so we can keep track of all your adventures. You missed a yummy steak last night, hehe. xox....

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb