Sightseeing outside of Ljubjana


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Bled
October 5th 2011
Published: October 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Woke up at 730 am, to early but i was ready for a long tour day. I usually don't like doing tours but this was small 8 passenger van and the destinations seemed good.

We met at 830 in the lobby of the hostel and got in the Van to drive off to the north area.

First stop was the an amazing gorge. We had about hour and half there and I got some great photos. It was about a 3 k walk there and 3k back. So beautiful along the river and the water was so blue. I could see the bottom of the river and also fish swimming.

Next stop was to Bled Castle. A true fairy tale castle. So Awesome. Got a few touristy gifts for christmas here that I think some people might like. It was on the side of the cliff that looked down into the Bled Lake. And in the Bled lake was a small island that had a church. And the legend goes that a rich lady put all her gold together and made it into the bell that was going to be placed on then island in the church, but as it was being rowed out there the boat sank and the bell was gone. It is said that if you listen carefully you can sometimes here the bell ring from under the water.

After the castle we drove down to another lake...Bohing Lake. and then had lunch. Some really good food for lunch. We went back to Bled lake and got in a row boat and set sail to the little island. Just took about 15 minutes. We walk along the island and up the church and around for about 30 minutes. It was a cool little island in the middle of the lake.

After the island we headed to a medieval town called Sokfja Loka. It was a really cool city but the Mayor is money hungry and building modern apartments around it and some what on the medieval part and killing its essence. This place had aslo good ice cream.

After the long day it was about 6 pm and headed back into town.

After getting back for about hour to get some stuff taken care, my friend that I met in Lisbon came up and met me. She lives in a small village about 30 minutes away. She showed me a few old town spots that I didn't see and we caught up on life. It really cool to hang out with someone that you meet you earlier in your trip. She then drove me back the hostel which was weird to be in a car in Europe. I haven't been in once since I drove in Great Brattain.

When I got back to the hostel I got sucked into making mojitos with a group of people for fun. And we were giving long strongs and made the mojitos in tin buckets. After the drink I built a straw bridge. haha. Im so awesome. Now I have to get ready for bed to catch a train to Zagreb, Croatia.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb