Slovakia


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Presov Region » High Tatras
October 21st 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've been moving from south Poland to Slovakia to Lviv,Ukraine(here now). I haven't had access to computer long enough to upload photos,so will try to catch up tonight. Tricky using Ukrainian computers in Internet cafe, but someone in hostel had faster computer so I could download pics from camera to flashdrive. I'll describe places from last four days.
One of the neat things about Europe is that you can cross most borders easily and enter a new country for the afternoon. Friends from Gorlice took me for a drive into Slovakia on Saturday afternoon. We went to Bardejov (not on this website). I'm uploading photos blind, (can't see them when I choose photos so if things are not jiving, gowith the flow). I was surprised that the main square in Bardejov was empty for a Saturday afternoon. Most of the stores were closed, and people must have been relaxing at home or elsewhere. The church that we visited was beautiful, filled with works of art. O.K., now to try to upload.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

At church doorAt church door
At church door

Great weather for past few days.
Town HallTown Hall
Town Hall

The central building is town hall for Bardejov, Slovakia.
CountrysideCountryside
Countryside

Can you see the rolling hills outside of the town? The trees were in autumn colours.
GypsiesGypsies
Gypsies

On the way from Slovakia, we passed a settlement of gypsies. They are chronically underemployed. I have seen women with infants begging on the tourist streets.


Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb