So I walked to Hungary...


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
November 18th 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


BratislavaBratislavaBratislava

Here's the view from the castle. Not as impressive as Prague...but still nice.
I finished work on Friday at the airport and decided to go to the bus station on the way home from work. I had thought about going to Budapest but there were no tickets left. There WERE however, tickets left for Saturday, but the bus only went as far as Bratislava, but I bought them anyhow. My round-trip bus ticket was only 430krowns which is about 22dollars...so what a deal, right? I can't even fill my gas tank at home for $22.

So I packed my Vodafone backpack and went to bed because my bus left the Florenc bus station at 6AM. When I say "packed" my backpack, I mean I filled it with food. I decided to see if I could do the entire day trip for under 600 krowns. Which left me with about 170kc to spend on food. So i went to Tesco and got a bunch of bread and apples, both of which are dirt cheap.

Bratislava was small, and freezing cold. Definitely not as sexy as Prague, but the people were nicer. I saw all the "major sights" in about 2 hours, but I had about 7 hours to kill before my bus left.
Bratislava StreetBratislava StreetBratislava Street

Old town Bratislava...so cold
So I was looking through my guidebook and noticed how close Bratislava was to Hungary...so I found the public station, and took one out of the city, towards Hungary. I got off the bus in the middle of nowhere...not even close to Hungary. I finally found a woman who spoke a little Czech and she told me to get back on the bus and then walk 4km to the border.

I ended up walking about 8km in the freezing cold, along a pretty big highway...there isn't exactly a sidewalk that leads to Hungary. It looked a lot like the border between Vermont and Canada...lots of nothing...just fields and snow.
I got to the border and walked across as if I were a car. The woman looked at me like I was crazy, but she stamped my passport anyhow. I got into Hungary, and realized there was no town, no nothing, for another 2km, so I turned around and started walking back to my Slovakian bus stop...
This is why I travel alone...because none of my friends would ever let me do something stupid like that if they were with me...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

HungaryHungary
Hungary

This is as far as I made it into Hungary, too cold and too bored to go any further...
Welcome to SlovakiaWelcome to Slovakia
Welcome to Slovakia

This is the road I walked on...worst idea ever...


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb