Friendly People!! I want to Stay!!


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade
July 14th 2007
Published: July 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So this morning, went off to this suburb part of Belgrade called Zemun..
Its just a 10 min. bus ride but it feels so different! So laid back!!!
Its very nice and peaceful...I came across this church that's under renovation..Its actually the Nikolajevska Church...
Bumped into a father and brother outside and they let me in!
got in and wowowow! The inside was Nice!!!!!!....then the brother came over and started explaining the history and meaning of things to me!! How Nice!!!!! At the end, he gave me this cool postcard with a pullout page of photos of the town as a gift!!! ..Really friendly!

Then I walked around town and happen to be able to kinda....communicate with some locals.....very pleasant...The town didn't have much but it was very comfortable walking around.
Took the bus back and walked to the Sveti Sava and the park. Its a chuch still building-in-progress! but it looks nice!. It was also the site where they burnt this rulers' 12-yr-old son in the past.....
The walk was LONG and uphill...so one the way back went downhill..=)

Went to the Vegi market to buy some fruits. Decided on some tomatos but they priced in kg! But I can't buy a Kilo..So just took 2 and asked how much, the guy at the stall just gave them to me for free!!!! Wah.....so nice!haaa.......so I had some spare change and finally spent my last penny on a box of juice....back to the hostel to freshen up for the night train^^"

Belgrade is a very nice city..the longer I stay the more I like it!!!! Did I say Polish and Slovaks were very nice? Well, Add Serbians to the list!!...even strangers on the bus and streets would give a big smile and just come over to offer help when I am just standing on the street finding my way! This city is also not too overwhelmed with tourist, the sights dun even have any English! However, many Serbs know very good English! surprised really..
Might end up coming back for a day to transit=)


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb