Novi Sad and Black Panthers Bar in Belgrade


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » North » Novi Sad
February 22nd 2008
Published: March 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up at 0715 and stayed in my couch till 0730 until the alarm went. Thereafter took a shower and got ready. I left with Vesna (Vecky), she went to work and I went to the bus station to go to Novi Sad.

Novi Sad is the capital city of an Autonomous Province in Northern Serbia called Vojvodina. Similar to Kosovo the difference being that in Vojvodina the people are not asking for an independent state. The return ticket to Novi Sad was quite expensive at 760 Dinars. I think there was something wrong but didn't argue as I couldn't speak the language. Seemed like a Ryan air ticket buying it on the day of travel.

Novi Sad also boasts one of the biggest festivals in Serbia in July called the “EXIT” Festival. It’s a musical festival and is compared to the likes of the Rio Carnival. I am contemplating going for it this year.

Got to Novi Sad around 11am and walked about the city. I went to the Citadel. I met this guy whose friend has been to Sri Lanka and his friend has said Sri Lankans are lazy and chilled out/relaxed people. We discussed the Kosovo issue and our own issue with the LTTE.

I walked back to the city centre and had a Funghi pizza. Good god in the city centre, some of the most stunning girls I have ever seen. I think I was the only tourist there and obviously with a camera hanging around my neck attracted a bit of attention. I felt odd to stand in one place and use my telescopic zoom lens and take pictures of people. You kind of get the feeling of being watched not in a bad sense. Also, I was a little careful not wanting to piss anyone off as the nation was not in the best of moods and there were protests in Novi Sad as well the day before.

While I was walking this random guy “Sergen” spoke to me who had a camera around his neck. I thought he might be another traveller to see he was a local who is an amateur photographer and has seen me taking pictures. We spoke for awhile and then decided to go to a bar for a drink.

The bar we went to was inside a house. Essentially he walked to the back of a building climbed a set of stair and honestly I was thinking we were going to some house. There was a really shabby looking old two piece door which looked like the entrance to a house and when he opened it, it led into this really chic bar and there was music playing as well. I heard no music at all from outside.

We spoke about many things from travel, politics, our lifestyles and mainly photography. He ordered a coke and I ordered an orange juice. Sergen did not allow me to pay or contribute and I said the next round is on me. After talking a while more, I was telling him about my travels, my experience in Iran the generosity of the people. Sergen knew about Iran especially Esfahan and was saying how he would give one of his kidneys to go and visit Iran.

After experimenting with Sergens camera lens and my telephonic zoom lens he was showing me how the aperture is opened and closed mechanically in his Sigma lens and in mine it is all done electronically? He also showed me a really old camera that he was fixing.

Then it was time for the next round of drinks and we ordered the same and when I paid, he got the waitress to give my money back and he insisted on paying, jokingly saying that he does not want to be second to Iranian hospitality.

Afterwards we went back to the square he showed me a few photography tricks and then we went our separate ways.

I got back from Novi Sad by about 630pm. Vecky was taking me and a friend of hers also with the name Vesna out to dinner.

We went to a very authentic Serbian restaurant and I managed to find vegetarian food. I had beans in a curry somewhat similar to the bean curry I found in Morocco however a lot thicker. There is also a lovely dip called “Ivar” and Borek starter. It is also very popular to have cheese in batter.

Vesna was telling me that most of the arty people come to this restaurant. It is run by a guy who dresses as a clown. Yet again I was really impressed at the beauty of the people in the restaurant. After dinner the two Vesna’s were going to a party and I was also asked to come. I was supposed to meet my other friend Natasha after dinner.

Natasha and her friends were at a “Kafana”. I took a taxi to this wharf in Ada Ciganlija because the club Blek Panters (Black Panthers) they were at is a floating bar/club. I met Natasha, Ivana, Jelena, another friend of Natasha’s and her Indian boyfriend. A “Kafana” is a place that plays authentic gypsy music. There was a live band playing music at this place and people were all dancing some even on chairs.

We were there till about 3am and then went back to Ivana’s flat. I stayed over at Ivana’s.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



14th March 2008

:)
heh, nice blog you've got. looking forward for your next entries from Serbia and the Balkans heh, glad you liked Veckey, she's a great lady :) marko (HC/CS - mpetrovic)

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb