Saint Petersburg here we come


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
August 7th 2018
Published: August 7th 2018
Edit Blog Post

So for our last night in Moscow I thought we would go further afield and into the suburbs of Moscow. I looked up on the internet and found a really nice little place called One Teaspoon. I got all the directions how to get there from the metro and even pin pointed where the place was on the map. Did everything go to plan - hell no! Did we find it hell no! I think I need some orienteering lessons or some new glasses as I honestly thought we were in the right place but could we find it NO. So what did we do but stop for a drink or two before returning to the area we knew very well Red Square, for a little bite to eat and more drinks. Anyway, as you know, you will find McDonalds in every country in every city well this proves we were in the suburbs as McDonalds had a Russian name - never seen this before and No we didn't go in.

So up early and we are off on the train to Saint Petersburg. The train journey took 4 hours which is funny as when we flew here from Heathrow it only took 3 1/2 hours. The journey was really uneventful apart from the gentleman sitting opposite me who kept on doing a religious cross - well I was getting the heebie jeebies by the fourth time he did it until Mike explained everytime we passed a church this is when he did it. Which was a relief as I was thinking now I know he is Russian and this is a Russian train does he know something about Russian trains that I don't know!!

So we arrive safely in Saint Petersburg and check into our hotel. The receptionist informed us that we had been upgraded to an executive suite - well it is more like an apartment with an entrance hall and a lounge with a 3 piece suite (antique) and a chandelier that is so big and ornate it would not fit in most peoples front door. And the bedroom well, enough said, amazing!

After checking in we decided to go for something to eat. Saint Petersburg is completely different from Moscow and at first thoughts not sure I was impressed or so I thought until we went through an arch and saw the Hermitage all I can say is WOW. We are going to take it easy tonight as we have a tour booked tomorrow and probably going to have a boat tour as well - this time going to check there is a guide and the guide speaks English - not going to do the same as we did in Moscow - see you can teach an old dog things, ha ha

Advertisement



Tot: 0.734s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.3834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb