Always next time.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Yaroslavl
December 1st 2005
Published: January 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

ChiaraChiaraChiara

Friend and opponent!
The official first day of winter, and the last day in Yaroslavl for the 13 week students. Fittingly we woke up to an inch of snow, which always makes the town even more attractive.

Today's temperature game was a tie. I guessed minus 3 and Chiara minus 1. It was a bit of a mumbled conversation on the way to the language school, we had only slept for four hours each!

Today's topic in Viktor's class was feminism. He didn't seem to understand what he was teaching and just spoke about Russian families. And he didn't appreciate the ideas we had because of the differences in gender roles between Britain and Russia; women don't pay for things for example, men don't cook. Viktor is a good teacher but, with hindsight, the material he has been given to work with doesn't make us feel comfortable.

Chris 'with the hair', Chiara and Chris W entered a dance competition last night at Nina the art teacher's dance club. Their routine was from the 1920's and from what they told us at break time it was a real success. The organisers gave their new friends t-shirts that say 'Boogie Woogie Yaroslavl' and five free tango lessons. Chris J got another surprise when he got home: he found out that his hozyaika has a husband who she had never mentioned, who she keeps at a cottage in the countryside. Russians always have something up their sleeves to surprise you with.

In Lena's afternoon lessons my mental block towards grammar came back. I've tried very hard throughout the course but participles (in their three forms) are a step too far at the moment. I feel so anxious when I don't know an answer that it's making my head hurt.

I have decided not to go to Moscow. It is an expensive city, and my student loan still has not arrived so I still have a serious problem with money. I also don't want to say a long goodbye to my friends. The coach trip to the airport will certainly be unhappy and I think a handshake or a hug at Yartek tomorrow morning would feel better. I will only say "see you soon" - the reunion in Sheffield is four days after I get back!

There will be time to see Moscow again when I am in Tver, which is only two hours away by train.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb