Wroclaw, city of Gnomes


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lower Silesian » Wroclaw
October 27th 2008
Published: October 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

GnomesGnomesGnomes

On the way towards the main square, look up and down and seek those gnomes.
Wroclaw, home of 'the Red Baron' and lately over fifty gnomes are waiting for you to find them. This is my last stop in Poland. I'm in the German part of Poland and very few people speak English here. In fact, the international ticket agent at train station didn't speak English. Luckily a young customer understood that I was looking for day passes for trams and pointed me in direction of kiosks outside the building.
I'm in a hostel with no washing machines, despite the fact that hostel-bookers advertised it as having free laundry. I couldn't get refund to move to another hostel, so that left me with the challenge of finding the one and only laundromat (not dry cleaner) in the city. Quite a feat. Hostel people said there were none, other hostel staff had broken dryer and asked me to come back the next day, and finally the tourist bureau agent in central square informed me that I had two options: all main department stores will take clothes and return them clean the next day or there was one laundromat in suburbs. And so my main adventure yesterday was catching trams and getting off at the correct stop (now
Beside hotelBeside hotelBeside hotel

Caught yah
that is a trick in itself) and finding number 52 (when half the buildings had no number) and getting there on time for the three hour process. I did it! And I got to see more of the city, without the tourist sites.
And when I wasn't on my quest for clean clothes, I was on a quest to find gnomes and snap pictures for you. Hope you enjoy them, the weather wasn't the brightest, yet the central city was quite lovely.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Look upLook up
Look up

Found another
SleepingSleeping
Sleeping

Beside another hotel. This is fun, looking for little people while I'm enjoying downtown.
Too MuchToo Much
Too Much

This gnome was outside a restaurant. Tricky little things to find when they lay down.
ImposterImposter
Imposter

Hey, I don't think you count as a gnome.
FountainFountain
Fountain

You guys can stick with the birds
PostcardsPostcards
Postcards

Every university city has wonderful coffeehouses and pubs. I found a good spot to write postcards.
ArchitectureArchitecture
Architecture

What, you wanna see the city? O.K. Here are some sites.
Main AdvertisingMain Advertising
Main Advertising

Cell phone culture is promoted everywheres. Not so annoying here as is home (with too many cell phones in public places)
ViewView
View

So many large advertisements, it was tricky to get nice picture of the classical buildings. Sad comment on global society, eh?
Bikes and FlowersBikes and Flowers
Bikes and Flowers

I think these flowers were more of the grave decorations for All Saints day coming up soon.
OrangeOrange
Orange

Love orange buildings
BirdsBirds
Birds

Food was dropped near me.
DocorationsDocorations
Docorations

I think this was a university building.
NakedNaked
Naked

Fountain is near the university.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb