Poznan, Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Greater Poland » Poznan
December 12th 2009
Published: April 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I made a last minute trip to visit my friends in Poznan before leaving Europe and returning home to the United States. Before I left, I wrote down her address on my ticket and left for the train station. I boarded the train and looked out the window at the winter wonderland until it was dark. I was switching trains in Wroclaw, so I knew that I shouldn't fall asleep! To my horror, the train stopped in the middle of no where and I heard mixes of Polish and Czech. I stepped out of my cabin to see what was going on.. and the conductor just spoke to me in Czech. "Ne, ne Anglicky." He should his head and pushed me in the direction of the door. No one spoke English, but it was clear that the train was not going any further. So I followed the crowd down this dark road to an old beat up bus. In my head I was thinking "oh my god.. they are selling me into the sex trade.. this is it!" But on the bus, I found someone who spoke english.. THANK GOD. They told me that the tracks were broken, so the bus would take us to another train to Wroclow. But then we were stopped by the police who needed to check passports. When he checked mine, the address for my friends house fell out! So I was heading to Poznan without an address!
We arrived at the train, and eventually Wroclaw where I was relieved to see an internet cafe where I found the address in my facebook messages!

I arrived at my friend's (Kasia) apt late that night in Poznan. I fell asleep right away.. it was a long ride!! The next day, Kasia had class, so I met up with the Tomeks and Magda. We rode bikes around Poznan! It was my first time riding bikes in Europe. And it was beautiful.. the snow and the Poznan Christmas market. We stopped in the city square where there were ice sculptures being made from many countries including the United States and Canada. We ate dinner at Tomek's (Rasta's) house where they made a Polish dish with Pork stuffed with spinach and Bigos (sausage with cabage). After dinner, Kasia and I walked back to her flat and we called it a night.

The next day, Magda and I went Christmas shopping at the shopping center in Poznan. It was fun to have a girls day! After shopping, we went to the deli and picked up some Bigos. The lady in the deli could tell I was American and she tried to practice her English! For lunch, Magda and I made Perogies and heated up the Bigos.. a really heavy lunch! But good! After lunch, we had some coffee and headed over to Kasia's flat again. We talked for a few hours and got ready to go out to a couple bars and after the bars, we went to see Gosia (another friend from the Outer Banks).

The next day we went to the Christmas markets and we went to a late lunch at a cute coffee and sandwhich place. Later that night, we went to a party that was hosted by a new Magazine coming out in Poznan. One of Kasia's friends was helping out with it. It was a fun night, but the next morning, it was time for me to get back to Prague! I had a llong ayover in Berlin on the way back.. Berlin is so nice and I would like to spend more time there!


This was my last trip iduring my four month stay in Europe and I have to mention.. I was one of those people who thought that I would never want to come back. "America is boring..blah blah blah." Yes, America may not be as culturally enriched as other nations, but the US is home! I just could not wait to be back home in New Hampshire and New York after four months of being a visitor, tourist, alien, guest, or whatever I was. I mean, whatever I was, I was not a native, or a citizen, I was not at home. But now that I have been back state side for three months, I am ready to be on the move again! I think my next big trip will be to Africa.. maybe a seven week safari up the east coast of Africa. But, Europe, I will be back again in November to visit my best friend who is studying in Dublin for the semester! I hope Europe is as good to her as it was to me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



22nd April 2010

I really enjoyed your Poland post. I have always wanted to go there. My blog is looking for travel photos. If you have the time, email us at dirtyhippies@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 120; dbt: 0.191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb