Finally met the rain


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Bergen
June 24th 2010
Published: June 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

View from atop the mountainView from atop the mountainView from atop the mountain

Looking over the harbour
Well, the rain finally caught up with me in Norway…

It was very overcast when I left the hostel, so I made a bee-line for the Fløibanen to go up the mountain to try and beat the rain. Apparently half the tourists in Bergen had the same idea because the line was quite gross lol.

The view was amazing from atop the mountain - well worth the wait. Would’ve been slightly nicer on a sunny day - the colour of all the houses would’ve popped more - but nevertheless, a great view. You could see the entire city, the harbour and the mountains in the distance. I got some nice shots although I’ve come to the conclusion many tourists don’t know how to take good photos… ahem. I shouldn’t complain though - at least they’re nice enough to take the photos for you.

(Sidenote: I love that whenever you take a self-portrait picture you suddenly have a bunch of people offering to take pictures for you lol. People are nice.)

People apparently also can’t use my camera… twice today they turned it off while trying to take a picture haha.

I wandered around the mountaintop for
The FloibanenThe FloibanenThe Floibanen

Bringing people up the mountain
a bit - they had some nice paths into the forest. Afterwards I got back in the mammoth-line for the descent. On a different day I would’ve just walked down… but the sky was getting dangerously dark.

Sure enough, just as I got on the Fløibanen it started to POUR rain haha. Did I have an umbrella? Of course not. Thankfully I was wearing a sweater with a hood though - so I ran from shelter to shelter, criss-crossing the town. I had planned on going to the Cultural Museum, however after wandering around in the rain for over an hour I gave up haha. I found the Natural Museum (which is right beside it, apparently) but it was closed for renovations.

At this point I was getting quite wet and decided to pack it in for the hostel. I grabbed some noodles and shrimp along the way. It was quite good =)

It’s still raining now, so I’m taking this time to upload all my photos to facebook. Well, I’ll start with Iceland and see how far I get. And it won’t be all…just the better ones, otherwise I’d be uploading forever lol.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

View from atop the mountainView from atop the mountain
View from atop the mountain

Looking more inland
On top of the world!On top of the world!
On top of the world!

Well, close enough =)
Disney forestDisney forest
Disney forest

I felt like I was in Snow White or something... birds chirping, very green, etc.
Angry clouds!Angry clouds!
Angry clouds!

And then the rain rolled in... brrr.


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb