27th Febr.2011 Gulltanna


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Averoy
February 28th 2011
Published: February 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On the 26th some work and 3 hour hike on the hills of Averøy, sprinkle rain. So finally i caught up. Yesterday got up kind of late, headed out at 10 am, again the same rain. No idea where to go, I just think I can pick up by myself any spot in Averøy island, looked at some ideas on the map, but when arrived at one place, didnt have courage to start, so drove further, looked like nice not so tall mountains (2-300m), not much snow, but still not feeling like getting in to the rain.. Sat for a while in the car, phone chatting, snacking, looking at the map and decided to get for more taller mountains.. Finding accesses to hiking paths or even parking near main road still a problem for me. There is no trails marked from main roads. So must have a very good map and good orientation, i dont have neither.. So I head for a village Kornstad, there should be road on the side going through mountains with plenty of trails. No church marked on the map, so I thought i just will leave car near the church and go, but appeared just behind the church goes the road i was looking for. I try to drive on it, but barely made to the first possible parking near some house, if not mistaken, road was more than 12 degrees steep. I go by road on feet hoping to find a trail. Old fir forests so dark, powerful mountain stream fills air with its music. Went down to see it, no way to cross it, so back on the road, tall mountains close by and I came to the parking lot near road with sign for the trail to Gulltanna - 591m mountain. I take it, trail is not bad, further up more snow, mushy too. on the top less of it. nice walk over short grass, not many rocks sticking. As soon as i get to the peak, clowds as dense fog covers me, no rain though. I still walk around as such a nice ground, but at one edge towards Fagerfjellet so much of..deer poop, never seen so much in the wilderness. Heading kind of back, but around Vassdalsvatna lake, missed on the side Storknokken-529m. and descended through forest in to Folland valley. Was difficult going down comparing to walk on the top, but i had plenty of time. So I ended the climb in Folland valley on another end of road which connects Kornstad and Folland across the mountains. I headed back by road where my car was. Nice and easy road walk after mountains, still picturesque.
Sometimes I think, I am guided by mountain spirits or smth, how I pick the places without knowing, how always it ends nicely or how accidentally i pick the right road or route. It such a charming magic to me. I traveled some in the world, always looking for this magic, but i never felt it so much as here, in Norway. Also, I never got hooked up with mountains as here, probably never had a chance. Hope, my knees will hold on for a while..


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

VasdalsvatnetVasdalsvatnet
Vasdalsvatnet

lake bellow and on the right must be Fagerfjellet
Forzen wave mountainForzen wave mountain
Forzen wave mountain

my another dream
My dream mountainsMy dream mountains
My dream mountains

from Langøy island as I see them on everyday walks


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb