20th of Febr. 2011 Stemshesten-Sjurvarden-Skottenvarden-Melen


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Averoy
February 28th 2011
Published: February 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This was most perfect day of perfect. I was heading to my dream mountain range. Its my fourth attempt, entire day spending there and the weather- cant wish for the better. As I already went both paths, I decide to go my own way, turning shortly from horses road (dead rabbit was gone from the road) in to the forest on the west. Nice steep climb, I love natural forests of the mountains ( random trees with junipers to the ground, nicely dense can be, but not too crowded 😊), snow increases as i go higher, but holding well, just on the top, trees gone and more snow, but doesnt hold so well. I am on top and heading for higher and snow is gone, walking easy on the rocks or even short grass, continuing on the edge on bare side, snow blown on the steep side down. Reaching Stemshesten -532m?, heading down to antenna mountain, then back and down on the side of Stemshesten then kind of doing loop and approaching Sjurvarden-667m from the sea -west side. No path, in some places going on all four.. No much snow, avoiding patches of icy snow, but plenty of rocks to step and grab. saw one footsteps descending though, nice white birds flew away of the mountain side because of me. On the top little windy, registered, found sunny calm spot for lunch. Lasure walk down, but more careful of bigger icy snow areas, still manage to avoid them, plenty of bare ground. Going very slowly, heading for Melen- 768 m. Path to the mountain marked with nice line of rocks and on the side nice footstep path on the snow holding well. Climbing up more ice snow, trying to avoid anyway i can, but sometimes not easy. Wasnt so easy as mountain looked from the distance. I made it, registered and slowly headed back, again, going down wasnt as bad as going up. On the way down stopped at the peak of Skottenvarden-549m and following footsteps got to the path over narrow mountain passage. This time more people walked it, made better path closer to the top and was not problem at all to walk it comparing to the first time. I was close to the lake Skottenvatnet, got a call from MM, he was an hour away from where i was and i still had about an hour to get down, so we decided to meet. Now i felt completely covered my dream mountains, connected with them. It is very nice, cozy mountain range, still when i look from the distance, I amazed that i been there. Well, I topped this wonderfull day with sunset near the sea, hot caraway tea, which MM never had before but liked it. I said it was picked by myself in the backyard of my home in Lithuania. May be little homesick when i write this..


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



16th March 2011

Intact beauty!
Yes, this is gorgeous as nature in its natural state. but when people will find it could be used for more than just a relaxation - it will be gone :( http://zycie-w-norwegii.mylog.pl/

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb