Day 14 - Alesund


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Ålesund
July 27th 2022
Published: July 28th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Still rainy today, but it came and went in spurts and was mostly just a light mist so that’s ok. I started off by going down to the water in Sjoholt (finally no low cloud/fog cover). Not too far into town there’s also this quirky forest statue park (Elvastien) that I’m really glad I found - their facial expressions are top notch. Also saw a bunch of people (successfully) fishing along the river in the forest - they were walking away with some real big ones!

I drove back to the Moa mall (free parking!) and took the bus into the city and am so glad I did lol - it’s San Fran-esque in terms of very hilly and steep roads all over… but also narrow of course. I’m glad I didn’t have to manoeuvre today lol.

(Side note the info/ticket person at Moa was useless. I couldn’t buy my ticket on the app bc it doesn’t support my phone number. Fine. But if I buy on the bus they add a surcharge. Online it said I could get the ticket at the info booth and the guy was telling me to just buy it on the bus. Im like isn’t almost double the price if I do that? He let out the most dramatic sigh and was like “yes… ok” and let me buy my ticket. I mean???? What??? I feel even OC wouldn’t pull that shit with tourists lol.)

First things first, I headed to the Town Park and climbed the kajillion steps (oof) to get a nice view of the city below. You can see the various colours - it was nice but I think Trondheim’s prettier in that regard of the colour pop.

I wandered back towards the city centre and looked at the art nouveau style all around - basically the city burned down in early 1900 (… literally almost all of it) and when they rebuilt, they went art nouveau. It’s cool, it’s different. It’s a very pretty walkabout - lots of statues, lots of little quirks and decor.

I walked out towards the lighthouse in the harbour and of course had to enjoy the “fart” sign lol. (“Slow speed”) I walked on the rock/barrier wall to get out there - boy it was wiiiiiiiiindy. But thankfully not too rainy still.

I also got this sprinkle cake thing at Walderhaug Bakery and Confectionery - it was good, not what I expected though - lot more sense than I thought it would be.

I didn’t feel like any of the museums, so that was that for today! Back at the mall I grabbed another Turtle Cake from the bakery and there we have it 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb