taking the whole trip thing too literally


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
July 25th 2017
Published: July 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

So after breakfasting and getting ready for my first full day in Oslo, what's the first thing I do when I leave the apartment? I fall over, tearing my trousers to rags and scraping my knee. With my track record, I can't afford any more mishaps. So I am glad to report that only my knee took a hit and no serious harm was done, even if hobbling ensued.

Got changed and swabbed myself free of gravel and headed for the Munch Museum with my Oslo Pass. Naturally, I'd forgotten to validate it for the day, and as the museum had no wifi, they had to take my word (and receipt) that I had a valid pass in the app. Bit of a daft system if you ask me.

The focus of the current exhibition is Munch's relationship with the forest, curated by Knausgard. I have to say I wasn't wowed by it. In fact, I got more annoyed as I went around. I know this is swearing in church but I found it a bit hit and miss. Some of the paintings were fabulous but I didn't appreciate many of the others. Found them a bit sloppy compared to many of his contemporaries. I know this is his famous style but I don't have to always like it.

An expensive trip to the pharmacy and some serious wound cleansing later, I set off for Tjuvholmen and the Astrup Fearnley Museum. Large collection of modern and contemporary art, including a temporary exhibition of Chinese artists. Stuff to get your teeth into. After a cofffee in the waterside area at Akers Brygge, I made my way back into town to the Museum of Contemporary Art. The exhibition by Toni Wrånes on the ground floor did not suit my mood. The lighting faded in and out on increasingly bizarre exhibits and as I was extremely tired and fairly irritated after the day's trials, I was not in the mood for weirdness and messing about. On any other day, I would probably have loved it, but my patience was wearing thin. Prefered the photography exhibition on the upper floor.

Ended the day at Nordvegan, a pretty high quality vegan restaurant not far from the National Theatre. Polished off a huge bowl of vegan delicacies and a chocolate ganache pie to die for. And then went back to the apartment to sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb