farväl Oslo


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
July 26th 2017
Published: July 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Started the day at Popcentret, a cute interactive exhibition about Norwegian pop music. A lot of it was obviously aimed more at a Norwegian audience than an international one but it was fun to see the chronology and the few artists I did recognise. You could even record a song in their studios but I gave that a miss...

After that, the Oslo museum with its interesting exhibition on Norwegian dialects. I learned that even Oslo itself is divided into different dialect areas according to class boundaries, one of them influenced by Danish. And that there's great dialect flexibility, and people mix bokmål and nynorsk. No wonder I get so confused.

Next stop, the history museum. Decided to focus solely on the Viking era and got to see the Nordic gods as never before (pictured). Then off to the National Gallery, where it wasn't hard to spot the Munch room. I let the other tourists fight to take selfies with The Scream while I enjoyed some of his other works, which I find way more appealing.

By now, my feet were aching so I just took a quick look around the Museum of the Resistance in the Akershus fortress compound. Had no idea that red woollen hats, seen by the regime as part of the Norwegian protest against Nazi occupation, were forbidden. I also become painfully aware once again of how history continues to regurgitate old vomit when I read how the war regime swapped out judges for Nazi sympathisers. Encouraging, though, to read about the mass resignations of teachers, who refused to teach the propaganda. We need to be on the alert more than ever, it seems.

Bought some ridiculously overpriced postcards and stamps and then went for dinner at Der Peppern Gror, an Indian restaurant with delicious vegan food. Back to Malmö tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb