A room with a view


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
July 24th 2017
Published: July 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

A long day's travelling that included being subjected to the young couple in the train seats in front of me making out from Hallsberg onward (I'm not even joking) finally landed me in Oslo. Armed with my Oslo Pass, I took the metro to Tøyen and to my room in a shared apartment. The district reminds me of a jazzed-up Högdalen (suburb of Stockholm) if that means anything. The apartment is clean and has all the amenities I need but my actual room has a view that I can only describe as interesting (see pic). But it's fine for a few nights. As long as I can sleep, I really don't care.

As I arrived early evening there was no time to hit the museums so I got my bearings and did some sightseeing. Visited the unusual Opera House and walked up onto the roof, then went to the pop-up area by the harbour called Salt, with its cafes and restaurants. Headed back towards the centre again for some cheap deli food under NOK 100 (see pizza menu for comparisons) and then walked to the old town. Ended up in the Vulkan district, which has a pretty waterfall flanked by bars and cafes and some interesting apartment blocks. Back at my own apartment, my flatmates had arrived but I haven't seen them yet. Sound like a young couple, hopefully not the same as the one on the train.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb