First days - getting to the start


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
June 27th 2014
Published: June 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


P1010678P1010678P1010678

Oslo, Opera house
Hello,

I'm not one of those creative writers and I'm not even the one who would read blogs. Even though I'm the one who can just bulletpoint things out, my friends adviced me to start with this. Thus I created this blog more to keep people who I know updated and not repeat the same story everytime people ask me "So how is your trip going on?" But feel free to check if you find anything interesting.



So I started to plan the trip just three weeks ago and till know I just know how to get to the supposed start point - Tromso, the north part of Europe. Everything else will clear up on the way. I hope...

First day was spent efficiently: Glasgow -> Edinburgh (flight, and I hate this so much, but promised myself, never again on this trip) -> Oslo -> Train to Trondheim.

And the last point of this day - oatcakes is the thing that helps you to survive (Thanks, Olivia).



Second day mostly spent on trains, just reaching the north of Norway (yes, that's how long the country is). It doesn't look as a long
P1010689P1010689P1010689

Trondheim train station
trip as you always have an amazing view of mountains and sea, plus you get your own blanket and pillow, for comfy sleep (love norwegian railways for this).

Finally I'm in Bodo with no real plan of sleeping place, waiting for my morning bus to Narvik. Just few minutes ago, while having a dinner, I've met local sailor. As he insisted on me taking money for my further trip to Tromso and payed for my coffee, he looked one of those nice people you often meet on the way. And as much as I hate this, I had to reject the opportunity to sleep in his ship and run away, since the guy was already tipsy. However, I feel safe with staying outside, mostly because of the midnight sun and the tiny size of the town.



One more day of busses and I'm finally in Tromso - the point where I should have started the trip. Sitting in a really nice coffee place with the background of the Antony and the Johnsons - Fistful of Love, All in all - feeling great!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



28th June 2014

Love you Zivile, stay safe and happy, you're a wonderful, wild lady! Enjoy, big kisses XXXX

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb