The Grand Hotel


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
November 5th 2005
Published: November 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I can’t tell you how much I now appreciate taking a shower with no one else in the room (although I have adapted quite well I think to sharing a bathroom with 30 other girls). For my birthday, my mom rented me a hotel room and I had one of the girl’s from my team, Talitha accompany me. I was only there one night but I took a shower three times just because I had access to a bathroom I could shut the door to and lock. We stayed at the Grand Hotel, which is supposed to be one of the nicest (if not the nicest) hotel in Oslo. They had the best buffet breakfast EVER. It was so yummy and it was included with the cost of the room. While we were at the hotel we each had a thirty minute massage. That was so needed after the many hours of dancing we do each week. It was weird when the lady asked me what I do for a living and I replied I was a dancer, training to go out tour. I never thought that sentence would come out of my mouth. After the massage we took a dip in the indoor pool, located on the top floor then we spent a few minutes in the sauna. We accidentally increased the temperature in the sauna and when we saw that both of us were bright red and could barely breath we decided it was time to leave. After that we went up to the room and just relaxed after taking a long shower and watched “My Best Friend’s Wedding.” The movie reminded me of being back in college. I remember watching it in College Station at the movie theater and the whole audience “Whooped” at the mention of our wonderful college town.
After an afternoon of relaxation we headed out for a nice dinner at an Italian restaurant overlooking Karl Jogen (the major city in the street with the most action - which is the same street our hotel looks over). Then we back to the hotel to the bar/café on the top floor because it was such a cool area and just had some good conversation. Then we went to Deli de Luca, next door, and picked up slices of three different kinds of cake because we couldn’t decide which one to eat. Then we tasted them while watching “Kingdom of Heaven.” It really was such a wonderful and relaxing time! Thanks mom!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb