Return to De Burcht, Leiden, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Leiden
May 17th 2017
Published: February 28th 2023
Edit Blog Post

De Burch van LeidenDe Burch van LeidenDe Burch van Leiden

(Fort of Leiden)
This being my last day in Leiden I wanted to visit De Burcht van Leiden (Fort of Leiden) again. I crossed the iron gate at the bottom of the embankment and up to the Fort Gate. I entered and walked up the spiral stares to enjoy the view of the Fort and Leiden. It is some feat for a town around 1200 AD to build this fort for everybody to hunker down and survive the attacks and sieges by hostile forces.

I wandered around following some nice canals. I Found my way to Hartebrugkerk, a nice old church that I think was built in the 1800s.

I found a nice City Park following a nice canal by De Valk Molen Museum. This was a very nice place to hang around for a few hours.

I walked back to my hotel and had a few hours to sit on a picnic table available on the roof of the Rembrandt Hotel.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

De BurchDe Burch
De Burch

bottom gate
De BurchDe Burch
De Burch

plaque
De BurchDe Burch
De Burch

inside walls
De BurchtDe Burcht
De Burcht

inside nice trees
De BurchtDe Burcht
De Burcht

inside gun portal
De BurchtDe Burcht
De Burcht

stairs up
De BurchtDe Burcht
De Burcht

top wall
De BurchtDe Burcht
De Burcht

inside
De BurchtDe Burcht
De Burcht

inside
De BurchtDe Burcht
De Burcht

top view outside
De BurchtDe Burcht
De Burcht

top view outside


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb