Wandering Around the Streets of Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland
June 20th 2014
Published: June 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today we went off in separate directions. Jerry to visit a motorcycle shop and me to visit the Anne Frank House. It didn't turn out so good for either of us.

Jerry went by public transportation. He had the route down and the bus numbers he needed. But the last connectng bus didn't arrive until 15:13 (military time is used all over Europe) it was only 11:15. He wasn't about to stand at the bus stop that long even for a motorcycle. So he returned home.

My plan was to walk to the museum. I knew how to get there and I left early enough so the line would not be too long. I was walking confidently down the street as if I lived here, cautiously watching for cars, trams, buses, and bicycles. Suddenly I looked up and realized I wasn't sure if I had crossed one too many canals or if I had one more to cross. No worries, there are lots of signs pointing to the Anne Frank House. Except not on the street I was on. I wandered around for about an hour before I finally reached the house (it should have taken me about 10
The Hidden ChurchThe Hidden ChurchThe Hidden Church

The Catholics were not allowed to practice their faith. But if they were inconspicuous they weren't arrested. This church is between two retail shops and you can't tell it is a church until you go inside.
minutes). I was not lost, I just couldn't find what I was looking for. And I got to see parts of the city I hadn't yet seen. And of course by the time I did get to the house the line was way too long to stand in while it was raining. The Anne Frank House would have to wait for another day.

While I was roaming the streets I thought how nice it would be to stop for a cup of coffee. But in Amsterdam things aren't always what they seem to be. A "coffee house" in Amsterdam does not sell coffee --they sell pot. So as I passed by (yes I passed by them all) coffee house after coffee house I became obsessed with finding a place that really sold coffee. Finally I found the perfect place, clean, people sitting around chatting and drinking their morning cup. So I went in, placed my order and got ready to pay. The lady at the cash register said "we don't take cash here, only cards." What?!?! Since I don't carry a card with me here, I smiled and walked away. I'll just make myself a cup when I get home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The Old ChurchThe Old Church
The Old Church

Built in the 1300s
Beach soccer in Dam SquareBeach soccer in Dam Square
Beach soccer in Dam Square

If they aren't watching soccer they are playing soccer


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb