“Please proceed to boarding gate number Canada”


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Schiphol-Rijk
August 16th 2015
Published: October 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

M & A are there, of course. They give us the last ride to the airport and wave us goodbye in front of the control pass. A short farewell is the best farewell, but the camera catches it all, so we can watch it over and over again.

The flight to Reykjavik is short, we scale there for 2 hours before the last jump over the ocean. When we get out of the plane we are hungry though, and the nightmare starts. We told us from the beginning that we want to stay on a low budget, so the extremely high prices in the Iceland International Airport makes us struggle. I scrap my wallet and find some old British pounds. Together with the last Euros we own I go to the changing office and hope to get enough for a bite for both of us. The woman looks at me while I empty all my small coins on the table. She tells me that normally they take no coins, but probably she is able to listen to my roaring tommy and makes the change anyway.

We end up eating a tiny 10€ salad and having to pull out the credit card for a piece of pizza. We are still hungry but will survive the 7h flight to Vancouver.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb