Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
December 2nd 2014
Published: December 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Started out early this morning, to go on a canal cruise around the waterways of Amsterdam. But, before I did, I decided on a waffle for Breakfast and a nice stroll down to the pickup point. The cruise was around an hour and a half, which took you from the new area to the old area, around the red light district, and into the main bay area where all ships come and go from. From there we continued seeing central station, the floating Chinese restaurant, the replica ship at the Maritime museum, onto the Music theatre and the Hermitage Museum. This is where I left the cruise to wander to have some lunch in a dinky little pub, and then a walk down to the Rembrant Square. There was a lot of little stalls from a variety of Countries selling their goods and wares. And yes, there were quite a few little smoking cafe's in the area. Walking a little further on to a shopping area which was very busy with a lot of people doing their shopping. 😊 I did a little browsing, before heading back to the Ice Bar.. oh yes, this was about -10c inside, your drink was in a container made of ice, and the chairs and displays were all ice as well. I met a few nice people and we had so much fun laughing and taking pictures. I think my little travel friend Dobby, got into the action photo bombing a lot of others photo's too. Lol It was getting on a bit time wise, so started making my way through the streets and just looking in shops and moving toward the direction I thought my hotel was.
Luckily for me, I was only a few blocks away from my hotel. I stopped at a little bar for a snack.for dinner and a beer. The bar was near a little ice rink, where children were ice skating. It looked as though they were having so much fun. I stood and watched for a while as they didn't have a care in the world. Them back to my hotel where I sorted my case ready to go to my next destination tomorrow afternoon... Cologne (Koln), Germany


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb