Cologne


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Cologne
December 4th 2014
Published: December 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day 1 in Cologne, and didn't know what to expect. The taxi driver when I arrived was so funny, and had me in hysterics, but also warned me of some area's around my hotel and also of pick pockets. I arrived to my hotel after dark, so my night in was pretty quiet.

I did however wake in the morning, feeling a little worse for wear after a few nightmares - I think what he said played havoc with my mind.

But, after a full breakfast I headed out on foot and the first place I find is the Alter Markt (Christmas Markt). I was amazed. The whole area was vibrant with Christmas stalls, beer barns, and a skate rink for people to go skating on. It would be lovely to do it, but dont want to risk a broken leg. Lol. The stals kept coming, probably over three blocks full of stalls of people selling their wares for Christmas. At the end I see this little tractor with trailers on it..

It was the Weihnachtsmarkt - Express. A little markt express shuttle service to take you to all four Christmas markts. Of all of them, I think the Alter markt was the best. Second stop was the Schokoladen- museum (chocolate museum), a smaller market but I did have a taste of what they call, Gluehwein, a hot spiced wine punch. (Mulled red or white wine). Lovely people at the bar to serve also, who gave me a taste first of the red and the white version. 😊

From there to the Neumarkt which I found was quite pleasant in the middle of the main shopping area of the district.

Then onto the main Cathedral, the Kolner Dom.

Wow, I have never seen a Cathedral as big as this one. I walked around, brought a few Christmas gifts and on the way out, low and behold there was Father Christmas at the entry. Of course I had to have a photo with him, as did my travel buddy, Dobby.

Then back to my start point, and toward home. I had a yummy true Italian meal for dinner tonight, and a free port to finish the evening.

During my day, i did happen to meet a group of German ladies on one of the shuttles, who were very funny and we all had a good chat. They loved Dobby also. What was even more strange is that I saw them again through the market, and then again an hour later at the Dom markt. Three times - that makes it good luck right? They made a point of tapping me on the shoulder to say hi each time too! Was nice to be noticed lol


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb