A day around Cologne


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Cologne
December 5th 2014
Published: December 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day two, and decided to do the touristy thing and see the sights. I walked my way across the to the Rhein river. The view was wonderful, with so many different buildings and eating places set along the riverside.

From here I walked up toward the Dom and across the'Hohenzollermbrucke' bridge. This bridge is the bridge of love, where many couples go and place a padlock on the fence of the bridge to confirm their love is locked forever. I was amazed at how many padlocks there were there. The whole 1km of one side of the bridge was covered, with the otherside starting to get many on it also.

Once across the bridge I walked to the Lanxess Arena, where they hold all their concerts, and stage shows. The place is as big as a football stadium. I was amazed. Then onto the Panorama - a lookout with a 360 degrees view of the whole of Cologne and outskirts. Some windows had pictures to show what buildings looked like and what they were which was excellent as you didnt need a guide to tell you.

The sights were breathtaking to say the least for someone not so good with heights.

After the Panorama, I walked down to the river and toward Rhein Park. What a beautiful parkland, it was very peaceful, and didnt 't even realise how far I had walked. I was to go on the skylift over the Rhein river, but it was closed for the winter. I was a little disappointed as I had myself worked up to go on it in preparation. So, on back I trudged along back to the Bridge I had previously crossed.
It was quite a walk, estimating about 4 kilometres from my hotel for the return trip. It was good and as I headed back toward my hotel, I decided to stop for a bite to eat. I had Brattwurst, sauerkraut and roast potatoes for lunch, with a german size beer (1 litre). Lol. It was very nice, and I can say I ate a traditional German meal too 😊 From here I walked through the Christmas market again and got myself a drink of Gleuhwien again, which was very enjoyable while watching all the people on their iceskates on the rink again. I couldn't stop smiling at how the place really felt like Christmas. A traditional winter Christmas. 😊 Back to my room for a well deserved rest after walking around 10 kilometres for the day 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb