August 20 2015 The journey home


Advertisement
Macedonia's flag
Europe » Macedonia » Skopje
August 20th 2015
Published: May 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Taxi from the hostel to the airport was uneventful. Arrived at the airport and upon checking in found out we happened to stumble across the "baggage police with PMT". First of all I was grilled as to how I got in the country with my large bike case. Then after numerous phone calls by the check in woman to an unknown person I had to put my case on the scales. Phew 29 kgs! 1kg under the allowed weight. Next was my hand luggage. Definitely one piece only which we'd seen earlier, so my small back pack was now inside my carry on. 6.9 kgs. 0.1 kg under the allowed weight. I'd witnessed people putting on a pair of jeans at the counter to get under.

Sadly Gus was next! He lifted his 32 kg case on the the scales and then held one end up on the pretence of balancing the case. 28 kgs. I whipped the case off the scales as the measurement was up and down like a brides nightdress.

Miss PMT grumbled as she placed the sticker on the case. Next was Gus' 8.5 kg carry on. Lol. He'd slipped the backpack under his three jumpers and jacket he was now wearing. 6.8 kgs no worries. 30c + three jumpers and a jacket and sweat was now rolling off Gus like he had the Ebola virus. Lol.

We boarded without incident and landed in Dubai. The original intention was to grab a room for 8 hrs but at $300 for the room we rapidly lost interest and headed to the bar. Sadly there were two very pissed Poms in the bar who were quite obnoxious. I realise now why we have immigration laws. In an effort to avoid the drunken Poms I sparked a conversation up with Sergei and Alex, two members of the Russian Organised Crime Syndicate. Sergei made the Poms look sober. Bad move. He wanted to kill the Poms lol. However, there was a queue! Sergei's anger died down with the arrival of a young Iranian girl who was now the focus of his attention. It was amusing to watch Sergei the contact killer attempt to weave his magic with the sober Iranian.
His affection fell on stoney ground.
Due to the long transit time Gus and I had a voucher for a meal.. That's putting it loosely! Basically it entitled the bearer to a crusty old sandwich made last week. When I asked for a ten day old sandwich the waiter stated that they didn't sell them to which I replied "no you give them away to poor burgers like me in exchange for this bloody voucher". He didn't think it was as funny as I did. One of the drunken Poms had staggered off leaving the other one asleep. As I was videoing the remaining one he woke and started to dance (see video). Some people shouldn't drink. I reckon that when he started to drink he was thinking "God I'm a good dancer". When he sobers up he will be thinking"God I've seen the video and we need to talk".

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb